We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Site”

Fort McHenry National Monument
Ranked #2 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic fort that inspired Francis Scott Key to write the U.S. national anthem.
Valrico, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historical Site”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a very informative visit. The displays in the Visitors Center were excellent and we had plenty of time to tour the grounds of the fort.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,769
    657
    100
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic and informative”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

There is first an informative film so that one knows about what you will see. Walking the fort inside and out and gazing over the harbor gives one a sense of the period and the war that gave us our national anthem.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the Price of Admission”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Fort McHenry. Although you can view the film and get a feel for the historic significance of the place, I strongly recommend you pay the small fee walk the walls and ground of the fort. I’ve read other reviews that state the film and the experience was a bit over the top. Although I can see how someone would feel this way, when you consider the significance of the place and the events, I think it is justified. I recommend you watch the film before walking out to the fort although it’s not necessary.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AUS_in_US_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Oh Say Can You See!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fort McHenry is an all American fort. Since the Star Spangled Banner was written by Francis Scott Key while he watched the Battle of 1812 over Baltimore, this National Monument holds special significance to every American. The Fort is extremely well taken care of and is just a short drive from the downtown Inner Harbor of Baltimore. A Must visit if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 462World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Walk back into history”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very easy access from the harbor water taxi, affordable fees and interesting historical interpretation of events by a park service expert.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort McHenry National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Fort McHenry National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing