We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historical Experience”

Fort McHenry National Monument
Ranked #2 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic fort that inspired Francis Scott Key to write the U.S. national anthem.
Fleming Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Historical Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Wonderful site and film is very well done. Provides not only the history of the Star Spangled Banner but also of the use of the Fort and site in the subsequent years. Pay particular attention to the photos spread throughout the Fort. The Fort also provides a nice place to walk and view downtown from across the harbor.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank FloridaGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,743
    654
    100
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun for a bit of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband took our kids here via water taxi while I was in a conference and my daughter had so much fun she insisted that they return with me so she could tell me all about the Star Spangled Banner. It is a self-guided tour with lots of reading so if you have really little ones, it might not be too fun, but for elementary age kids it was a hit!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fort McHenry - an adventure in history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

A nearly forgotten battle of a nearly forgotten war, saved from oblivion by a poem that was inspired by the battle. This national park preserves not only the history of the War of 1812 and the battle for Baltimore in 1814, but the history of our National Anthem. The brand new visitors center is packed with excellent exhibits, including a great short film about the national anthem and several very interesting interactive displays. The fort itself has been kept up very well, and it facinating to explore on its own.

I had been to Baltimore, but never here. It was well worth the short drive from the Inner Harbor and the nominal enterence fee.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mikebickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great National Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We loved our 3 hours at this park. The park ranger taught us all about our flag - and inside the visitor center is a wonderful movie about our National Anthem and it was very moving!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DetectiveofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place in History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is one of the best gifts to be given to your childred. If fully understood they will have a better understanding of our nations heritage and that of their own. History that changed the planet was made right here. It's a national treasure.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort McHenry National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Fort McHenry National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing