We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find”
Review of Hard Yacht Cafe

Hard Yacht Cafe
Ranked #243 of 2,035 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Howes Cave, NY
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A rare find”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wow, can't judge a restaurant by its neighborhood! This establishment was welcoming and friendly. The food...amazing! They had live entertainment. Good times!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micheleemtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kitchen Closed??”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

To make a long story short, after being at the restaurant for 2 hours, we were told that we would not be served dinner that we ordered at least an hour prior to being told that the "Kitchen is closed" by the manager. Had we not requested to speak to a manager (as our waitress was non-existent), we would have never been informed that we would not be getting dinner. We arrived at 7:30 pm and didn't recieve appetizers until an hour or more later. Never have I had such a disrespectful and poorly managed dining experience. Further more, this was an utter disappointment for our friend's birthday celebration which we had been anticipating for months. The manager informed me that if we were looking for fast service, Hard Yacht is not the place for such service on a weekend. He went on to explain how other similar restaurants in Baltimore located on the water have the same issues. To close your kitchen and not inform your guests who are waiting to have a meal is unaccpeptable. I will not return to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lpalmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What is the first sign a restaurant is badly managed?”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

When you walk in, sit down and wait a reasonable amount of time, then, when you are not greeted, given menus or have any kind of drink order taken, you look around and NO ONE, not one table, has any food.

As Steve W said, the manager said all the wrong things when we let him know what had gone wrong. The entire experience was a comedy of errors. The other reviewers are correct about enjoyable environment...it is a fun location. The music was great, the clientele was fun.

it is such a lovely spot..it's just a shame the place is so poorly managed. Oh, and what food we did get, was pretty good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DTownElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Boating Bar on Bear Creek”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have visited Hard Yacht Cafe several times and have found it to be a fun and enjoyable experience.

If you like to sit outside and enjoy good food, good entertainment, and a great view at a reasonable price, this is the place for you.The service was great too! They have music most nights and weekend afternoons.

We came by boat and tied up for free next to the restaurant. The manager told us that overnight docking and electric is free.

Don't miss this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elkmoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“long wait for bad food”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We ordered dinner (basic stuff) before the Orioles game started. We didn't get it until late in the 5th inning. Others were seated, served and checked out with second parties seated at adjacent tables before we got our food.We waited about an hour and a half for food. Owner was rude about it to boot. Said ALL the wrong things. we wont be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Yacht Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing