We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at Science Center”

Maryland Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Baltimore Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #16 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular museum is located in Harborplace.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time at Science Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Children and parents had a fun time at the science center for 2 hours. We were there when it wasn't crowded, so we could do everything. Everyone had to lie on the bed of nails! Still talking about it. The kids loved the wet lab experiments! We are members at the Franklin Institute in Philly, and this Science center had a nice mix of different activities.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank K4familyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    186
    76
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Science Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Can be really pricey and very busy on the weekends. The IMAX is great, but an additional cost. Activities for all ages. I recently saw Mummies From Around the World. It was a great exhibition, but I would recommend it for younger child.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tayuh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bring Your Mommy to see their Mummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Mummy Exhibit at the MSC is really worth the time and money to see it while it is still in Baltimore. However, my six-year-old grandson was a little freaked by the site of real people. The rest of the MSC is great. There is sooo much for kids to do and even adults will find a visit there VERY worthwhile. I especially like the large exhibits on outer space and the universe. Plan to spend at least 4 or more hours there to really enjoy it. We will be back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GilfromPikesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pass”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Definitively a place for school groups, but to go in an enjoy it as an adult or a small family is somewhat useless. Everything is scattered with no real..."flow" and the majority is centered around kids. Spent two hours but only because the times of the only two adult things (IMAX and an exhibit) were time regulated and we had to wait which was annoying. We ended up sitting with the only other adult couple and talking while we waited for our exhibit times. If not we would have been out in 20min. We did most everything downtown during our visit and would recommend skipping this and hitting the Ripley's museum and the Aquarium as the two high points in the harbor area. These you can def get your money's and education worth.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We went expecting a spectacular exhibit and were disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our family decided to take a Sunday to explore the new Mummies exhibit, hoping to be enlightened with a great exhibit. While there were some new entries into the already has been, been seen museum repertoire that is Mummies, they could have made it much more interesting. I have seen Mummies since childhood and come on, Mummies have been around for thousands of years and hundreds in museums. A new approach is needed and this one failed. The Mummy displays were fine but written details were bland and not easy to read. Black globes were placed next to large written and image displays but played no role in the display, were not lighted and we could not figure out their purpose. One of the most disturbing things was the display of human infants and fetuses. A written mention would have sufficed.
The entry fee was excessive for what was presented. The other science related displays in the Museum need cleaning, repair and updating also. We will wait until the museum decides to spend some money on improvements before returning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryland Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Maryland Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing