We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ASBMR meeting 2013”
Review of Convention Center

Convention Center
Ranked #39 of 233 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Baltimore's convention complex has abundant space for a variety of exhibits, seminars and trade shows.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“ASBMR meeting 2013”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a very easy to locate, and navigate conference centre. The nearby restaurants, shops and harbour make it a pleasure to do business in also! The National Aquarium and a lovely Barnes and Noble with excellent lunch and great seating allows for escape for a nice lunch too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover0769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    65
    25
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NYC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Convention center is huge and easy to navigate. Very clean and close by to many attractions. Check it out next time a convention is in town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PitMasterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
1,431 reviews
743 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,811 helpful votes
“Gigantic”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I attended the Baltimore Antiques show here and could not believe how large both the convention center and the antique show were. The facility is very clean and for the most part, brightly lighted. Some of the corner booths were a bit dimly lit. There are plenty of bathrooms which were very clean.

My only complaint - there is no parking affiliated with the convention center. When I called to ask about parking, I was given a list of hotels and other businesses in the area which offered public parking lots. I thought it was odd there was no parking attached to the convention center. That is not very convenient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“got lost”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

had a national convention for my industry, we ended up parking to far away as the we were not in the large convention building, but in the smaller convention hall. long walk, no signage. staff was polite and guided us to where we needed to go

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lockshopowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this convention center”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I rarely give a truly negative review of any site as I believe anyone or any place can have a bad day. However, I was present at the Baltimore convention center for four days straight and the performance was, generally speaking, very mixed. Here's the positive: it was located near Chesapeake Bay, Camden Yards and a Hilton hotel, making it easy to access and offering "outside activities". The meeting rooms were generally comfortable with adequate AV access. There is an outdoor patio which had an open space and two covered patios which was generally pleasant. Now for the negative: the food was awful -- and by awful I mean, terribly executed, generally unaccessible (there was one Starbucks stand in the building) and a catered lunch, poorly staffed and served (i.e. staff members sitting on the lunch counter.In the vendor hall, they were helpful, but clearly overwhelmed and underprepared to serve a crowd quickly) I actually felt sorry for the vendors in the main hall -- which was in the basement. When lunch was "served" it was so awful, people left to go find other lunch spots. This meant few people stayed to view vendor booths. Repeat performance for happy hour.
During the convention meeting times, the wifi was spotty at best and generally incapable of serving a crowd. This meant presenters and attendees had great difficulty accessing online presentations, catching up on work between sessions, etc. Finally, the electrical outlets were too few and too far in between. Electrical outlets were in heavy demand and vendors were obviously frustrated by the lack of access to electrical. Finally, and I'm not even sure how to categorize this, the staff seemed surprised that there was a convention that weekend. For example, someone had to call in a staff member to help with the wifi. The first day of the convention, the guards at the door to the vendor area were grumpy and unpleasant when we began arriving at the vendor hall a few minutes early. They held all of us at the door, opening fifteen minutes late, causing a crush between the small space where the stairs end and the vendor hall door is. I hope the good folks in Baltimore take this listing in the spirit of constructive criticism and immediately work on staff training, electrical and wifi enhancements and menu and service improvements. With those upgrades, the convention center could earn a better review.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaestroMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Convention Center also viewed

 

Been to Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing