We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum”

The Walters Art Museum
Ranked #3 of 230 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
West Chester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I liked the Renaissance Collections in the Walters Museum. This museum is free. I spent most of my time looking at this collection. I will have to make another visit to check out the rest of the museum. Most of the art museums I have visited in the US do not have European collections as large as the Walters Museum. I did not recognize a lot of the Reniassance artisits on display but enjoyed the art.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cigak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    203
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure. ”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The Walters is a wonder!! We have been 3 times, always with our very young son. He was in awe each time, his imagination captured by something different. On our last visit, we did the scavenger type seek and find. Brilliant! So engaging. It is a great way for adults to explore as well. The best part? We were able to enjoy the art as a family.
The range and selection is incredible. Do not miss this museum. It does not disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank MPwife82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great free museum”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Wonderful and eclectic exhibits! And free! I especially enjoyed the global exhibitions. It is certainly worth visiting and can be seen in a couple of hours. I don't understand why anyone would pay for the temporary exhibition when the permanent free exhibits are exquisite.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Atlantic
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Baltimore's "Metropolitan Museum" -- and GREAT for families”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My favorite museum in Baltimore! With collections spanning 3000 years and from around the globe, the Walters is virtually a mini-Met but not quite as large. My favorite room is the Collector's Cabinet, where you feel as if you're visiting the grandfather of Indiana Jones who has all kinds of cool things he's collected in his travels. My children (all boys) love this place. There are great activities for kids and it's free.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Momma23boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Selection of Art”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Free admission. Great selection of art ranging from Asia, Europe, and Middle East. Plenty examples of renaissance art and Egyptian items. Especially enjoyed the armored soldiers examples. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aimless_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walters Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Walters Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing