We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diverse, Well-Organized, and Free” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Walters Art Museum

The Walters Art Museum
Ranked #3 of 224 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Diverse, Well-Organized, and Free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This museum is located in the historic Mount Vernon section of Baltimore and is easily accessed by Baltimore's free Charm City Circulator bus service.

The collections of the Walters span different eras of European art, Medieval artifacts, Islamic art, Asian art and so much more. There is such a diverse amount of material to view and it is so well organized with helpful written material to educate you on what you are seeing. The museum provides guide material in many languages as well as specially designed material to engage children and to encourage them to get in front of pieces that would interest and fascinate them (large medieval suits of armor, for example).

We spent over 2 hours there and cannot wait to go back. Visitors should plan a long day to get to see the majority of the rooms in this multi-floor museum....or split their visit across two days.

The Walters is wonderful....and it is FREE. Go see it...you will not be disappointed. Art museums are sometimes perceived as stuffy and boring places. This is certainly not true of the Walters.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JJH1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    919
    195
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Unbelievible museum! Works of art clooected across at least three (?) generation. Something for everyone. ANNND, F-R-E-E!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An unexpectedly excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was surprised when I read the Tripadvisor reviews of the Walters. Seemed to good to be true. But we spent the afternoon there yesterday and loved it. Not nearly enough time. We will go back next time we are in town. This museum provides a wonderful eclectic mix of art. Dutch paintings. Russian stained glass. French paintings. Armor and guns. Islamic art. Jewelry. Porcelain. Art glass. Much more. All presented in interesting, relatively small groupings, so you never think "gee, when I I going to get past all of this ________" (fill in the blank yourself). Admittedly, there is not the quality or depth of paintings like you see in the Met, Louvre, Prado, Chicago. This is not a place with a traditional European (or American) painting focus. But the mix of works and styles, and the presentation, puts this right up there with the best museums I have seen. A very approachable place. Can't say enough about this. If you like art and museums, worth a trip to Baltimore on its own.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gamevod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, VA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We only could spend a couple of hours, but could have easily spend a day. This is a free museum wonderfully done. It's easy to get to from Inner Harbor via the free bus. Don't miss this one

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is definitely worth a day of your Baltimore vacation. It's near the first Washington Monument in Mt. Vernon Square. This museum has everything from Egyptian artifacts to now.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ekmhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walters Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Walters Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing