We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Post
Inbox
Search
Port Discovery Children's Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A must see for your kids!

We took our 3 children here when they were younger and returned just recently with our 6 year old... read more

Reviewed October 25, 2019
chris k
,
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Kids love it

Firstly, this is not a museum as we know museums. It is a fun play attraction for kids. There is... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Weetbix7
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 394 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Baltimore
from $71.95
More Info
from $139.00
More Info
from $22.03
More Info
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
195
112
48
30
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
195
112
48
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews climbing structure water area all ages water play older kids egyptian room play soccer three story art studio great place for kids year olds lots of fun inner harbor three hours rainy day parking garage exhibits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 394 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2019

Lots of fun things to do for kids of all ages. Even those that can't walk yet, lots of touchy things, water to play with, Just a whole bunch of fun for all ages.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Voyage667165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Hi! Thank you so much for visiting Port Discovery Children's Museum and for your very kind review! We love being able to provide an array of activities for children of all ages - and are happy to hear you enjoyed visiting! We hope to see you and your family again soon for another day of powerful, purposeful play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

Great place to take the kids for a great adventure! So much to do for all ages and well worth it. After 1pm the price is $10 per person if you're on a budget. 3 floors of kid entertainment including one section of water play.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank VicBowls300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Hi there - thank you so much for visiting Port Discovery Children's Museum and for your very kind review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed visiting the Museum and our October Deal Days promotion! We hope to see you and your family again soon for another day of powerful, purposeful play and all new family memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

We took our 3 children here when they were younger and returned just recently with our 6 year old grand-daughter. This is a great hands-on kids place that has a wide variety of activities for young children. Definitely something I would recommend if you have time. I saw a review criticizing the museum for lack of staff and disorderly rooms....ignore this. Might not be tons of staff, but they are placed in areas where supervision is required so other areas might look like kids are playing, which is what this place is, a place for kids to play. We saw no issues.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2019

Hi there Chris - thank you so much for visiting Port Discovery Children's Museum and for your very kind review! We're so glad to hear that you've enjoyed visiting the Museum time and time again over many years with your family! We hope to see you all again soon for another great day well spent and creating all new family memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Port Discovery has improved their exhibits and now an excellent place to visit. I do suggest that it is primarily for children under 12.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank L5658MParthurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Hi there! Thank you so much for visiting Port Discovery Children's Museum and for your very kind review - we're so glad to hear you enjoy our new renovations and new exhibits! We hope to see you again soon for another day full of powerful, purposeful play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

There are a decent amount of things to do in this childrens museum, many of which my kids were genuinely excited about. Unfortunately, there isnt staff in most areas to keep it tidy and almost every exhibit has pieces that can be moved and thus, end up missing in no time, rendering several areas useless. There was also a camp run by the museum taking place and they absolutely destroyed the sections they were in as they rotated through yet no one came back to fix anything. For example, on the first level is a little grocery store. There was literally nothing left on the shelves when the campers left, everything was strewn about on the floor, in cars, and near the "register." It just got left that way. Same thing with the ball/sport area. We went into the toddler portion and all but 2 of the silk butterflies and both nets were missing and toys were just thrown everywhere. Same with the farm area upstairs - all play food was gone. The bricks for the ship were all on the upper level and there was no access from the side of the ship we were on. I didnt see a staff member in any area putting parts back, helping kids, enforcing rules (if there are any), or tidying up except for bear the giant slide on the first level and a lovely young lady in the arts and crafts area. The entire water area was closed for cleaning, which would have been nice to know before hand since my kid loves those things but there was no mention on the website.
I really liked that you have to have all parties wristbands checked when you leave to make sure the numbers match so that a kid cant get out or be taken out by anyone other than the adult they should be with.
Overall, it is expensive ($58 for 2 adults and 1 paying child; we had one free child) for a disorganized, chaotic, and mostly unusable experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 268katherineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hi there - Thank you for visiting the Museum, and for your honest and helpful feedback. We are sorry to hear that many of the exhibits were quite messy or missing pieces during your visit. That's not the experience we aim for, and we're sorry to hear that we missed the mark. We have shared your experience with our leadership team so that we can address it and do better. Thank you again for visiting and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews