We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Baltimore
Post
Inbox
Search
Port Discovery Children's Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Renovation with Innovative Interactive Displays

We recently returned to Port Discovery after the renovation and we were pleasantly surprised by the... read more

Reviewed July 25, 2019
sheilal921
,
Albany, New York
Loads of fun for kids!

Lots of fun things to do for kids of all ages. Even those that can't walk yet, lots of touchy... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Voyage667165
Read all 391 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Baltimore
from $22.03
More Info
from $106.27
More Info
from $139.00
More Info
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
193
112
47
30
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
193
112
47
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water room climbing structure all ages water play older kids egyptian room play soccer three story art studio great place for kids year olds lots of fun third floor three hours inner harbor rainy day parking garage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 391 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Port Discovery has improved their exhibits and now an excellent place to visit. I do suggest that it is primarily for children under 12.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank L5658MParthurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Hi there! Thank you so much for visiting Port Discovery Children's Museum and for your very kind review - we're so glad to hear you enjoy our new renovations and new exhibits! We hope to see you again soon for another day full of powerful, purposeful play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

There are a decent amount of things to do in this childrens museum, many of which my kids were genuinely excited about. Unfortunately, there isnt staff in most areas to keep it tidy and almost every exhibit has pieces that can be moved and thus, end up missing in no time, rendering several areas useless. There was also a camp run by the museum taking place and they absolutely destroyed the sections they were in as they rotated through yet no one came back to fix anything. For example, on the first level is a little grocery store. There was literally nothing left on the shelves when the campers left, everything was strewn about on the floor, in cars, and near the "register." It just got left that way. Same thing with the ball/sport area. We went into the toddler portion and all but 2 of the silk butterflies and both nets were missing and toys were just thrown everywhere. Same with the farm area upstairs - all play food was gone. The bricks for the ship were all on the upper level and there was no access from the side of the ship we were on. I didnt see a staff member in any area putting parts back, helping kids, enforcing rules (if there are any), or tidying up except for bear the giant slide on the first level and a lovely young lady in the arts and crafts area. The entire water area was closed for cleaning, which would have been nice to know before hand since my kid loves those things but there was no mention on the website.
I really liked that you have to have all parties wristbands checked when you leave to make sure the numbers match so that a kid cant get out or be taken out by anyone other than the adult they should be with.
Overall, it is expensive ($58 for 2 adults and 1 paying child; we had one free child) for a disorganized, chaotic, and mostly unusable experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 268katherineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hi there - Thank you for visiting the Museum, and for your honest and helpful feedback. We are sorry to hear that many of the exhibits were quite messy or missing pieces during your visit. That's not the experience we aim for, and we're sorry to hear that we missed the mark. We have shared your experience with our leadership team so that we can address it and do better. Thank you again for visiting and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019 via mobile

My boys love coming to Port Discovery to learn a few new things and play in the slides, ropes and the soccer game. It’s great for mid-ages like my kids (7&9) but really good for you gets too. Always a fun day and the kids can get some energy out!!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank amwDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Music to our ears! We appreciate you visiting the Museum and are so glad to hear you had a great time playing and learning! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

My Dude had SO MUCH FUN! He was learning without even knowing it. Each area themed, and hands on. In the center is a 4 story slide which was VERY popular. Only critique: it is LOUD. Our Dude is autistic, and NEEDED his headphones.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank JL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Yay!! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit - and we think it's just the best when children are having fun as they learn! Thank you for your feedback on sound levels - we'll share that with our team so that we can look into ways to better address sound levels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019

We recently returned to Port Discovery after the renovation and we were pleasantly surprised by the updates and changes. Except for a few displays not working, we had a blast. Our two and three year olds ran from one space to another, joyfully experiencing water play, musical sounds, exotic smells, building materials, art, climbing, and more. The climbing structure is a challenge even for our nimble, active 3 1/2 year old. The art studio is wonderful and the staff couldn't have been nicer. The store on the first store was a usual mess but what can they do without an assigned staff member to keep tidying up all day, All in all, it was a great time for the kids. It's extremely expensive so it's more of a special place to visit than a weekly venture. But if you're a teacher, pull out your ID for free admission.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Guest Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Thank you so much for visiting Port Discovery Children's Museum, and for your very kind review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and the updates and changes that have been made. We appreciate your feedback on pricing. While we keep admission prices as affordable as we can, we appreciate that saving money is always good! One thing to explore if you'd like to visit multiple times per year is our Annual Membership program. It typically pays for itself in two visits! Thanks again for visiting and for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews