We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Toddlers ... Great for Kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Discovery Children's Museum

Port Discovery Children's Museum
Ranked #28 of 224 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Port Discovery Children’s Museum is ranked among the top 5 children’s museums in the United States! (Child Magazine)Port Discovery offers three floors of interactive, educational exhibits and ever-changing programs for children ages birth through 10. Toddle and crawl through Tot Trails. Get healthy and fit in Kick It Up!. Splish splash in Wonders of Water. Shop and pump gas at the Royal Farms Convenience Store and Fill’er Up Station. Cook and serve food in Tiny’s Diner or climb and slide through KidWorks, a 3-story urban treehouse.Port Discovery Children's Museum is pleased to partner with the Let’s Move! Museums and Gardens Initiative launched by First Lady Michelle Obama and the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to fight childhood obesity. The national initiative helps children learn about healthy food choices and promotes physical activity through interactive exhibits and programs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for Toddlers ... Great for Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This children's museum is a three-level oasis for kids looking for hands on fun. Since our daughter is only nine months old, we tried a few rooms, but found the Tot Trails room was best for us. It was well designed to encourage movement. Our daughter crawled around but she really enjoyed the short dividers that allowed her to standup and stabilize herself as she tried to walk.

The Museum is conveniently located a couple of blocks from the National Aquarium, so it's close to other attractions if you have bigger kids in your group.

They validate parking, but since we parked in the National Aquarium garage we don't know if it covered the full price of parking.

The staff take children's security very seriously. No child is allowed in without an adult. Every adult and child gets a wrist band with a matching number. Security checks the number on the wrist bands before allowing a child to leave with an adult.

Since we live within driving distance and decided we would be back, we upgraded our entrance fee to a year membership before we left for the day. If we visit more than 3 times in a year, the membership has paid for itself.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FourSeamDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that your little girl enjoyed exploring Tot Trails and that you are now members. The next time you visit, you may want to attend our Mother Goose on the Loose story time and Jingle Jangle Music Time - our signature infant/toddler programs that run in the Tot Trails exhibit. (See our web site events calendar for program times.) Also, if you visit on a Saturday or Sunday, you can park at the Harbor Park Garage at the corner of Lombard Street and Market Place for $7. You can pick up a validated ticket at the Box Office when you get your wristbands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    94
    33
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fantastic for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Our kids always go nuts when they find out we're going here. It's 3 or 4 floors of activities, rooms, arts/crafts, abd play areas for kids of all ages. Both our 2 & 8 year old love this place.

On a rainy, hot, or boring day when you want to get the kids out, this is a must

Helpful?
2 Thank SedoneStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear you and your children enjoyed your visit to Port Discovery! Please come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I felt very comfortable letting my child and nephew roam around in this place. Everything is very well monitored and supervised. There were plenty of interactive things with which kids could play. My child's favorite room was the water room. As long as the child has a sense of adventure, he or she will have a great time. The price is very reasonable for a few hours of fun, only about $14 pp.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you and your nephew had a safe and enjoyable experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
517 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Kids Love This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We took our 4 year old granddaughter to PD on a Saturday AM. I expected it to be crazy - but not so much. Eve loved the exhibits and was not happy about leaving. We will take her back next time she is in town and stay all day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you and your granddaughter enjoyed your visit. Saturday mornings (and Sundays at noon) when we first open are a great time to visit if you want a "quieter" experience, especially during the summer months. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My kids are 7 and 9 and really enjoyed it. However, some 9 year olds might be too old for this museum--many activities do seem geared to toddler/pre-school. Climbing structure in the middle of the museum a big hit. Parents beware--different trails in the climbing structure have age recommendations. Adhere to them. Watched a crisis unfold when a 4 y/o tried to navigate the older kid trail and couldn't--caused a huge log jam and many tears.

Helpful?
1 Thank mmg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDiscovery, Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that your children enjoyed their visit and we appreciate your recommendation for parents to adhere to the trail recommendations for KidWorks. Though many of our exhibits do appeal to a younger audience, we recommend for guests with older children to explore KidWorks, our climbing structure, Miss Perception's Mystery House, Adventure Expeditions, and the Kick It Up soccer field. We also offer a variety of performances and programs that change daily. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Discovery Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Port Discovery Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing