We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run.”
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #4 of 233 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well run.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Overall excellent experience...ended up spending three and a half hours there. Saw two dolphin training sessions which are awesome. The 4D movie was short but a good way to take a break.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CVI0136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,116
    1,641
    629
    187
    105
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, PA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun but frustrating!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is such a WONDERFUL museum but I suggest:
1-TELL guests they must purchase a token BEFORE they get in the LONG line for the coat check!
2-Provide a DAILY program with times and locations on paper handouts!
3-NOWHERE on the map is there a listing of the times for the Dolphin shows! MISSED IT!
4- Missed the Puffin feeding because no signs directing us how to go directly to the 4th floor!
5-Hire more cashiers at the café and upgrade your computer cash registers! We wasted on hour trying to get a "snack!". Separate the beverage-only purchase line from the food/grille line.
It is VERY expensive for a group - at that price, we don't expect to also have to pay for coat check, and we don't want to miss the FREE shows!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Franpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate H, Public Relations Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, including your detailed suggestions! We truly appreciate hearing these things from you because they can help us better our experience for you and other future guests. I've passed on these suggestions to our teams.

Thank you again. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you are ever in the Inner Harbor area you have to stop at the National Aquarium in Baltimore. I have been in aquariums from Monteray CA to Boston & NYC but this one is still at the top...beautiful exhibits and a great overall experience!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family fun for everyone”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent New Year's Eve day at the aquarium. I have a set of toddlers (almost 3) so the main objective was lots to see while keeping the pace moving. They enjoyed the exhibits and got to see tons of amazing wildlife. The food was decent. Find a coupon for entrance if you can- helps cut the cost. In nice weather you can park for free by the visionary arts museum and walk. Enjoy!!!

Helpful?
Thank AndBmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well designed and good experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Although the Chicago aquarium is bigger, this one has the dolphin show included in the ticket. All experiences were positive except for the fact that we cannot take our toddler strollers. Heaving our toddler for 3 hours was a back-breaking experience.
The back strapping infant-carrier is not big enough (as if they'd agree to be carried around like that :)) for a 2 year old, 30 pound child, not sure if there was any size option but none were given.
Its understandable why strollers are disallowed, but something could be done to ease parents' troubles.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pommyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing