We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Aquarium, Baltimore

National Aquarium, Baltimore
Ranked #4 of 224 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must see !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

A very nice Aquarium but has become over priced $35 per per person. Rain forest is great but would not do again. Have done this 2 times and it is great but must move on. If you visit please go you will love

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,828
    1,508
    584
    175
    102
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“very well laid out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have to say this is one of the nicer aquariums I've been to. The lay out was great. I have also been to the one in Chattanooga tn and I do see the similarity they were designed by the same person I believe. If you take the time to really enjoy it and see everything its an all day trip. It wasn't very crowded when we went through the week of course school was back in by the time we went and there was on group of kids ahead of us that was very noisy. You have to expect that though when you go to a place like that just be prepared and let them get ahead of you if you can. The price is a little expensive but I think it was worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank blueiceraptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dive After Five Fridays best time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Tickets are $34 for admission regularly however on Friday nights after 5PM you can enter for $12 and stay til 930. This is more than enough time to see the place. There are maps available which is good because locating the exhibits gets a bit confusing. In order to see the dolphins and jelly fish you must cross the covered walkway. The last dolphin show is at 630. Start on the top of the shark exhibit then go down the ramps to the viewing portals. It is rather dark down there and I think could perhaps do with a bit of rope lighting or something. The coral reef is awesome and my photos came out to where you can't tell that I was in front of a piece of glass so shoot away but turn off the flash. Calypso is a green sea turtle which they rescued off of Long Island (I believe) sadly he has lost a flipper so can not be released into the wild but he thrives in the aquarium. The Australia exhibit has birds and slithery creatures. Did not expect birds in an aquarium. Nor the footless creatures for that matter :(. IT looks as nice on the inside as it does from the outside. At the entrance is a giant waterfall. There was a 4-d film about salmon which I did not experience but seemed to be well liked by kids. There is food available. Also a well stocked gift shop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spinkick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We really enjoyed the Aquarium. I thought it was a bit expensive but found it very nice. We really enjoyed the dolphin show.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect way to spend a rainy day in Baltimore and it works for all ages. The variety of aquatic life is amazing - a true showcase of God's creativity. The performing dolphins rival those at Sea World. It's well worth the $35 cost. Also, the cafe there was reasonably priced and offered a variety of healthy choices.

Helpful?
Thank zarleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium, Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium, Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing