We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go at Night for a Special Treat”

National Aquarium, Baltimore
Ranked #4 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Go at Night for a Special Treat”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited on a Friday evening when the Aquarium was open late. The views from the crossover bridge are worth the price of admission, which, by the way is discounted after 5:00 p.m. Friday Evenings. Be sure and see (and feel!) the 4-D movie if you haven't had this experience before. We had a great time. Oh, and the aquarium is awesome.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,888
    1,529
    597
    176
    102
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Extremely Expensive Great Aquarium”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Why is there an admission charge to enter the National Aquarium, Baltimore? There's no charge to enter the National Air & Space Museum, Washington DC. Baltimore has a wonderful aquarium. It is quite unique with it's Tropical Rain Forest area. The building itself is modern sculpture. The exhibits are extremely well done. But there is a charge and it's too much for the average family to afford. If your budget is tight, skip the National Aquarium in Baltimore. Maybe visit the Science Center, it's much cheaper and very educational.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank skipreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
231 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Pricey entry but a nice activity for the afternoon”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Visited the National Aquarium this past weekend on a Saturday in order to kill time until we needed to be at a friend's wedding. The price on entry is a bit steep ($30/adult) and it was pretty crowded, which can be expected on a weekend. The aquarium has a dpretty decent traffics flow, so you don't have much guess work in finding out what to see next. Many moving pathways and escalators guide you through the entire building. There is a multi-level exhibit (four floors) which a large variety of fish, sharks, rays, plant life, and more. Many exhibits are meant to portray a certain region of the world or different natural habitats. The guides help you identify what type of fish you're looking at.

The tropical rainforest area was fun, with birds flying free and sloths and monkeys in the treetops. The guides are very helpful in assisting guests in locating the animals up in the trees (sometimes hard to spot)! The dolphin show (included in admission) leaves much to be desired if you've ever been to Sea World, but given the facility and location, it's still worth seeing.

A nice afternoon out, all in all. If you don't mind spending the money, I'd recommend you see the aquarium while in Baltimore.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovesTheBeach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very nice day”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We bought tickets online 3 hours before a 2:15PM entry last Saturday. In the third Pavilion kids stand in front of the small tanks and it is hard to see, but the exhibits are nice as the crowd emasse moves along in a wave. We then attended the Australian exhibit which was very good; there were lots of birds flying about. The excelllent dolphin show at 5PM was the place to get a little wet since we sat in the Splash Zone. The last was the jellyfish exhibit, outstanding, great photo ops. In 31/2 hours we saw all the displays with breaks to sit in the breezeways between the exhibits. There is refillable fruit infused water at the snack bar which is better than the usual sodas.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Sunday, it wasn't that crowded and there was no wait to get in. I did not enjoy the $30 price tag for admission. I understand that aquariums need money to function, but nicer and bigger aquariums charge less than this. If you want to watch the 4D movies, you'll have to add on an additional $5.

The exhibits were so-so. My favorite part was by far the Shark Exhibit with all of the different sharks and the Dolphin Discovery (I mean who doesn't like Dolphins?). The trainers at the dolphin exhibit were funny and very willing to answer questions about the dolphins and their training.

The jellyfish exhibit was VERY crowded and the exhibit does not have a very good flow. I didn't eat in the aquarium so I cannot comment on the food or the prices of the food.

Overall, if you have an extra $30 lying around, go, if not skip it.

Helpful?
Thank BizzleRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium, Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium, Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing