We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharks and Dolphins, loved it”
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #4 of 233 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sharks and Dolphins, loved it”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great place to visit if you love nature. The aquarium has almost all aquatic creatures that you can think of, is nicely laid out and has great guides.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank itsrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen D, Public Relations Representative at National Aquarium, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for this great review! We appreciate it and are glad to hear that you enjoy the aquarium! We will pass the compliment along to our guides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,113
    1,640
    628
    187
    105
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for a field trip.”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Like my title, this is great for a 5th grade field trip, or as a one-time thing in Baltimore. It is quite expensive, though they do have discounted student nights on Fridays during certain seasons. Definitely world-class, but I had no desire to go more than once, and I lived in Baltimore for 4 years.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank circustiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Belvoir, null, United States
2 reviews
“Fun but crowded”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We took our kids on a Saturday, mostly for the dolphins. We found that the amount of walking was a bit excessive for a child. while we didn't bring a stroller and our kids where able to walk just fine, by the time we had seen two of the three buildings both the kids and my wife were exhausted. Also things are a bit crowded but it was a weekend day. The staff was helpful and if they didn't have an answer they would look up the information. My kids largest complaint was it didn't compare to Seaworld in San Antonio. They enjoyed learning at the exhibits but they were just not as entertained. In the end, they are excited to come back and I did purchase a membership to the aquarium.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hapgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen D, Public Relations Representative at National Aquarium, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for purchasing a membership and we look forward to your next visit! We'd love more specific feedback on the three-star rating and what we can do to make sure that your experience is top-notch. The best way to contact us is through one of the channels described on our website.

You are correct in that the weekends are our busiest days. Now that you are a member, you can breeze right through the lines and see us whenever you'd like. We recommend afternoons on the weekdays for the most private visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun time in downtown Baltimore”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went on a Saturday and had a very nice time. Overall the exhibits were a bit small and things were a little cramped. They did have a lot of great information and nice, though dated, exhibits. The dolphin show was very informative and the staff were great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TerpyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sharks and more”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A bit on the expensive side, but much more than an aquarium. Gardens, Australia, turtles, eels, lizards, sharks, and lots and lots of fish bring this attraction to life. I heard many squeals of excitement at kids toured this space. the Jelly fish exhibit is a must see -- and do stay for the dolphin show too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RKReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing