We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My Favorite Bed and Breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Door on Baltimore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Door on Baltimore
Ranked #6 of 14 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Favorite Bed and Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stay at bed and breakfasts regularly for work, and this is one of my all-time favorites. Beyond the hospitality, the beds are crazily comfortable, the turndown service is a lovely touch, and breakfast is delectable! I feel like I can really and truly relax when I'm here, which is nice when I'm traveling on business!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
146
21
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, NJ
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Blue Door several times during the past year, and we are always delighted by the spotless rooms with their wonderful Baltimore views, the attention to little details including fresh fruit and cookies each night, along with fabulously prepared and varied breakfasts by Roger who is a gourmet chef and loves to tell stories about the neighborhood. It's just a short walk to Patterson Park which has the highest elevation in the city, with one of my favorite restaurants--the Morning Edition--nearby. My wife and I plan to continue to stay at the Blue Door during our future visits to Baltimore.

Room Tip: The Washburn room is the biggest and easiest to navigate, and the Patterson room has a balcony overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenJonKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in town for a conference and stayed here rather than in the conference hotel. My room was lovely and spacious as was the bathroom. The bed was also very comfortable. Snacks on the pillow were great and I was grateful for the room robe, bathrobe and other additions to make the guest comfortable. The caretaker hosts were also pleasant and food for breakfast was generally good. A bit of a detraction for me was the fact that there was no coffee in the room. I was suffering from jetlag which meant being up and around at odd times in the early morning and because I was in the Hampstead room this meant creeping downstairs in the middle of the night (probably not such a problem for the rooms below).

Room Tip: Hampstead room was lovely with a balcony at the back, but it is at the top of the house and one floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I visited for a cold weekend in Baltimore while the proprietors were away. We stayed on the second floor. We enjoyed the well-lit room, the nice sheets, spacious bathroom, and nightly baked treats. The breakfast room was a little more frilly, but breakfast was delicious and perfectly apportioned. There was a cute house cat that we wish we could have seen more often. Neighborhood is quiet but walkable to restaurants etc in Fells Point (we didn't have a car). Too bad we couldn't meet the proprietors. Overall, a very nice locale for a weekend getaway, and I think it would be even nicer in better weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jos9143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Beautiful rooms, gracious service by the hosts, delicious breakfasts. This is a quiet spot, with large beautifully furnished rooms, absolutely top-notch in every regard. The Patterson Room faces the back, and has a nice balcony to catch the morning sun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My daughter and I were in Baltimore to visit my niece who lives on Baltimore street, so we stayed here for convenience, but were very pleasantly surprised by the size and style of the room we stayed in. We also loved the breakfast, snacks at night, library, and company. I will definitely stay here again when in Baltimore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights here just after Christmas, and are very happy we did. The rooms were tastefully decorated and extremely clean and comfortable. The sheets were some of the softest I've ever slept on! We were on the top floor and it was very peaceful. Breakfasts were tasty, and Roger gave us some great tips on places to explore in the city. We particularly enjoyed the turn-down service and daily chocolates, and loved having the tea service in the library. We would HIGHLY recommend that you stay here when visiting Baltimore!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfitz252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#1 of 62 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#9 of 62 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#2 of 62 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door on Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door on Baltimore

Property: Blue Door on Baltimore
Address: 2023 E Baltimore St, Baltimore, MD 21231-1940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Door on Baltimore 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Casual Elegance by the Harbor from a neighborhood row house setting and times gone by at Blue Door on Baltimore. Located in the historic area of Butcher's Hill, and steps and a few short minutes away from all of Baltimore's business and entertainment venues.Trendy neighborhood restaurants, entertainment venues, Orioles and Ravens games, and strolls in Patterson Park and along the waterfront await you. Day-trip to explore more of Maryland or Washington D.C. by auto or train. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing