We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely the best accessible accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townsman Inn Larned

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Townsman Inn Larned
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Larned
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best accessible accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived very late (10:30 pm) after being turned away at three hotels in Dodge City and Kinsley because we were traveling with two small dogs. The desk clerk at the Townsman Inn welcomed us and our two dogs with open arms and a friendly smile. I asked for a disability accessible room. The room we stayed in was the largest and most comfortable accessible room we stayed in on this 12 night trip. The breakfast was pretty darn good too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treebeard46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
9
7
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concordia, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Checked in late, 11:00 PM and the night clerk was very nice and helpful. Room was a former smoking room and had a bad odor, but it was so darn late and I was too tired to complain. The bathroom was recently remodeled and the bed was great. So........the room matched the price. A "comp" breakfast was minimal. Coffee, juice, and a sweet roll.

Room Tip: Make sure you are very specific about a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This motel got good reviews. I'm wondering if I was at the same place. The location is a 1950's style layout, single story with units surrounding the parking lot. On check in, went to my non-smoking room, which reeked heavily of smoke. Went back to the office, to get another room, which they readily gave me. The second room, while not as bad as the first, still had a smoky odor. Walking back to the office, met the desk attendant going to check my original room. She showed me a third room, no smoke odor, however, STRONG Febreeze smell that really overpowered you. They graciously refunded my credit card and I went down the street to a more modern motel (Rodeway, about two miles east), where I got a much larger room for about $5 more ($51.29 versus $56.69).

As to the rooms, they are very small; the three I saw were all the same. The sleeping area is about 2 feet wider on each side than the bed, which was a double bed, so it was less than nine feet wide. It was probably no more that five feet longer than the bed, maybe four, but I'll give it the benefit of the doubt, so it would be about eleven feet long. Small bath and sink area added a little space. No table to work on, old tube TV.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Larned hotels

Columbia, IL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Townsman Inn again this year on our trip down the Santa Fe trail. We like traveling the "Blue Highways" and Larned, Kansas is a convenient place for us to stop for the night. We have come to count on a clean, comfortable & quiet room, friendly service and a good price. There are local attractions at the Fort and the Santa Fe Trail Museum in Larned and the more expensive Dodge City, Kansas is an hour down the road when we decide to move on to other things to do. This is an old style motel and you can almost back up to your room door. 12 to 15 steps from the car trunk to the luggage rack in the room : - )

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the office for more peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Optimistic_Otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

It's NOT a Best Western anymore but not to worry. We enjoyed our stay here exploring the SantaFe trail. Wireless did not work in our room but they had a wired connection that did. It's not the Ritz but a very comfortable place. We found the staff VERY helpful. Fridge/w/freezer, Microwave, coffee maker. Good TV. Quiet rooms. Pull up to your room. I'd say ignor the negative comments I see here. If you want the Ritz...keep driving..and paying $$$$$.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand, IL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a clean, comfortable motel at a reasonable price. It is also near the center of town and restaurants. Good breakfast as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank free8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I only spent a few days there in the middle of Sept. on a friends suggestion, but
Thanks for a delightful stay! I absolutely loved the breakfasts, the cold water pool on a Hot day, the courtesy of the desk clerks, and the friendliness of the other guests. This one was right up my alley with a clean, very comfortable, and private room. Thanks!

Stan

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larned
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Larned
Rodeway Inn Larned
#2 of 3 in Larned
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
20.2 mi away
Days Inn Great Bend
Days Inn Great Bend
#6 of 8 in Great Bend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
20.4 mi away
Travelers Budget Inn
Travelers Budget Inn
#5 of 8 in Great Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Angus Inn
BEST WESTERN Angus Inn
#1 of 8 in Great Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Great Bend
20.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Great Bend
Comfort Inn Great Bend
#4 of 8 in Great Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsman Inn Larned? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsman Inn Larned

Property: Townsman Inn Larned
Address: 123 E 14th St, Larned, KS 67550-2226
Location: United States > Kansas > Larned
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Larned
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsman Inn Larned 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Fort Larned National Historic Site, Historic Santa Fe Trail, Central State Scout Museum, Doerr Vernon Park, Larned Country Club, Pawnee Rock State Park, the Pawnee River and the Arkansas River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Townsman Inn Larned reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsman Inn Larned Hotel Larned
Best Western Larned
Larned Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing