We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting fort full of History.”

Fort Laramie National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting fort full of History.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stop as we followed the general route along the Oregon Trail through Nebraska into Wyoming. There is a lot to see at this fort. We did not have time to do the audio tour, we just walked around on our own. If you are interested in the Oregon Trail and/or Pony Express history, this is an important place to visit. The volunteer and Ranger in the gift shop/Visitors Center were very helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zookyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    111
    25
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

One of the neatest Forts we have explored! Full of information and artifacts. Fun for the family or the history buff. There is a nice grassy park near the river where you can picnic before or after the tour. We chose a self guided tour towards the end of the day, but there are audio tours available. Check the website for fee info.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burns, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day for the Grand Children!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

On our visit to Fort Laramie, our two grand children had an awesome time. If you have young children, be sure to ask about the Junior Ranger program. It made our visit to the Fort that much better and gave the kids some guidelines of what to look for around the Fort.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must for Western History buffs...”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a great place to learn about the westward expansion. Some restored original buildings and some in ruins show the facility that existed here in Frontier times. As someone else pointed, historical treaties and events took place here. Very modest fee for entry. Best visit in spring or fall after hot weather is past.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 844Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“History in action”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The audio tour $3 was excellent using clips from former residents set in context. Allow. Enough time to amble round and chat to the knowledgable volunteers. A great start to our American Rockies tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank matureadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Laramie National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Laramie National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing