We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All We'd had hoped for and more!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Marcos Texas
2 reviews
“All We'd had hoped for and more!”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The pictures on the website do not do the Inn justice. The wonderful adobe structure is elegantly furnished with period piece antiques. Each morning David and his staff prepared beautiful and delicious gourmet breakfasts. We enjoyed rising early and having coffee in the garden. The atmosphere was pleasing and relaxing and everything we hoped for. David was a suburb host and made us feel very welcome. The afternoon treats outside the dining room were an unexpected bonus. We came to eagerly anticipate what each afternoon might bring us in the way of this delicious treat. We would highly recommend the Veranda to friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holleyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    36
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
134
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We have stayed at the Veranda a number of times and have always felt well cared for. Gourmet breakfasts and very clean rooms are among the amenities offered. It's under new management now, and the new owner/operators have done a good job of retaining the Veranda's familiar features, while at the same time adding some improvements. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_astronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We just returned from a weekend, star gazing at the McDonald Observatory. The Veranda Inn is interesting, in terms of historic furntiture, and decor. It feels like one of those turn of the century homes, minus the velvet rope, stopping you from going too far into each living room. Come here for the chance to relax, and appreciate the night sky (yes - you will need a flashlight). Don't come here expecting to be entertained! David showed us to our room, and was very hospitable. (The cookie bars are delicious!) Breakfast was served at 0900, and although there was no choice, it was very tasty, and filling. Definitely recommended - but not for youngsters).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
794, Owner at VERANDA HISTORIC INN, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
We appreciate the guest's kind comments. However, we do welcome children and have had many stay here during the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a five night stay at The Veranda in late August 2010. The location of the Veranda Bed and Breakfast makes it a wonderful spot to enjoy all that the region has to offer. We had a large room (decorated with Eastlake antiques) which featured a private bath that was also spacious. The high ceilings and transom over the doors to the private rooms made for very comfortable sleeping with just a ceiling fan. Breakfast was at 8 or 9 a.m., your option. It was excellent and presented in a communal dining room at an elegant table setting. Ft. Davis is a small town but day trips to Marfa, Alpine, and Balmorhea State Park are easily made. Great hiking country, too. Great hosts and terrific setting!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyndybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We recently enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Veranda. It is a charming place that will take you back in time. The accommodations are comfortable and clean, the service and the food were first class. We wish David and his family much success in this new venture!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed in room 2 and loved it! The accommodations are clean, and the new owners are enthusiastic hosts. Would we come back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassiopeia-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed one night in the Carriage House part of the Inn. We really liked David and the personal touch he displayed. He is just getting started with a picturesque old Inn, which will require some renovation going forward, but he has the right appproach to hospitality. He's an interesting guy with lots of life experiences.

Our lodging was cozy, in an 1880's kind of way, lots of antique furniture, high ceiling rooms with private spaces in walled gardens on all sides, peach trees loaded with delicious fruit, humongous shade trees and a magnificent old fig tree. Butterflies and hummingbirds cruising about, nice spots to sit and read and take in the nearby volcanic cliffs in the morning sunrise. Very quiet and relaxing.

Breakfast was quite nice, in a fine classical dining room, china and silver service well-arranged, a terrific spinach quiche and fresh peach cobbler, good coffee; he had fresh-baked (and delicious) ginger cookies ready on our arrival and more bagged-up for our departure.

It's an old historic place which will keep David busy with upgrading it, but it's already comfortable and a good value. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a spot with an authentic feel, quiet comfort and a very nice host who understands what he is doing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtm3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.3 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
477 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
390 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
200 reviews
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
326 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Property: VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing