We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a B&B should be!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Everything a B&B should be!”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The Veranda looks modest from the outside, but this building is lush with history and warmth. The owners were sincere in their hospitality and it was clear that they love making their guests comfortable. Every little detail is seen to, and we left feeling very well taken care of. We enthusiastically recommend this B&B to anyone considering a stay in the area!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalusLumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    36
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
134
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2011

I will stay here every time i go to Ft Davis for sure.You cant miss.Large rooms and bath,every thing works and very old and keep up

Room Tip: all are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quickdraw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My husband and I brought our children and grandchildren to the Veranda Hotel during spring break. The rooms were beautiful, interesting, and comfortable. The food was delicious, the owners were helpful...I can't say enough wonderful things about The Vernanda Hotel! Absolute perfection!
Martha and Ken Miller

Room Tip: They are equal...all warm and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMillerFamily099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I am not a big fan of the intimacy of B&B's. The Veranda has the advantage of once being a hotel so one has separation from fellow guests. This in combination with the fact that there are 2,200 people in the entire county where the Veranda is located made it a perfect escape. On the practical side, the entire facility was spotless, the breakfasts were excellent, and David-the owner-is attentive but unobtrusive. The only downside is the $5.00 charge to pet the pig (a small joke).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borger, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We were looking for a nice quiet place to spend a few days. This B&B was the ideal place. The bed was very comfortable. The food every day was healthy and delicious. But if you don't like what they cook, they'll cook what you like. Dave and Eleanor encourage everyone to ask for what you need or want. I seldom give any place excelent ratings across the board, but for what we were looking for, The Veranda was excellent in every way. The B&B was ideally located for viewing the Fort and the Obseratory as well as the points of interest in Alpine and Marfa. Dave works very hard to make everyone's stay perfect if possible

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and comforable. We liked #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borger_TXBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This was one of the nicest b&bs I’ve stayed in. Its unprepossessing exterior and location in a dusty little town hardly prepare one for the spacious and refined interior, with polished wood floors and nice furniture everywhere; everything was clean and comfortable, the owner was pleasant but unobtrusive, and there was a good pancake breakfast the next morning.
Fort Davis itself is also well worth a visit, although it's hard to see why the rest of the town has a place in the “America’s Most Charming Towns and Villages” book - aside from a curiously oversized county courthouse, it looks more western-scruffy than charming (in the conventional sense). And while I can see why the fort that gave the town its name was named for Secretary of War Jefferson Davis, it came as an unpleasant jolt to find that the county itself still carries the name of a defender of the indefensible (slavery) who should have been hanged for treason. Still, for anyone looking to break the long trip across Texas on either I 10 or US 90, Fort Davis (and state route 116 through the Davis Mountains) are probably the best bet - thanks to this b&b, the well-restored fort, and the reasonably good dining at the Limpia Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Rather nondescript from the outside, you get a wonderful surprise when you step inside The Veranda. High ceilings, airy large rooms, beautiful wooden floors, attractive area rugs and lots of antique furniture adorn this nicely decorated Bed and Breakfast. An unusual feature is that many of the rooms have a sitting room, all filled with beautiful antique furniture. David, the host, is very friendly and helpful. However, attention is needed in some areas: The bathrooms are a little tired and could do with updating. The shower head in our bathroom for instance needed some urgent descaling, as the water was shooting out of only a few of the holes. The toilet was leaking. The complimentary toiletries tray contained a half-empty shampoo bottle. The liquid soap dispenser was dirty. As for breakfast... My friends and I would have preferred more choice, including a somewhat healthier fare. I understand that B&B's like to distinguish themselves from hotels and motels, but there is a better way of doing this. We were not asked about dietary preferences or likes and dislikes. The plates we were served (they vary each day) were not particularly well executed. Most of us left a lot of food on our plates and left the table hungry and disappointed. We would suggest an a la carte menu, even if the guests are asked to make their choices the night before. Considering the prices charged for a night's stay, I expected a little more!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
794, Owner at VERANDA HISTORIC INN, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
We appreciate the guest taking the time to write a review. However, we would like to respond to several points: The guest never informed us during their visit about any of their issues with the exception of the running toilet which was repaired within 15 minutes of their arrival at the inn. The shower head has been checked and is operating normally - perhaps the guest is not familiar with water saver shower heads which are common in desert climates. We always replace all amenities in bathrooms - sometimes the vendor does not fill the containers to capacity which may have given the guest the impression that she had a "used" shampoo bottle. We checked the liquid soap dispenser and found that it did indeed have a buildup of dried soap - this has been corrected.
As to breakfast, we always ask our guests if they like what has been served. This occurs shortly after breakfast has been served and also towards the end of the meal. The guest who wrote this review claimed to enjoy their breakfast on both days. We are always prepared to offer alternatives to the featured dish (scrambled eggs, cheese omelet, cereal, toast, etc.) but can only do this if the guest lets us know. In the future, we will have a menu board that indicates alternatives available so that guests know that this is a possibility.
The guest also claimed that they were not given an opportunity to request special meals. Our confirmation letter requests that future guests inform us of any special dietary needs. This statement is in bold print in the confirmation letter. We regret that the guest overlooked this , as we regularly accommodate vegetarian, gluten free, low fat, etc. diets.
We are sorry that the guests were not pleased with their stay. However, we are unable to remedy a situation unless we know about it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.3 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
482 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
209 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
538 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
59 reviews
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Property: VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing