We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”
Review of The Hotel Limpia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Limpia
Ranked #4 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is one of the better "old hotels" in which I have spent much time. We were there for a week in late August, bicycling and hiking. The service was great. Coffee on a summer morning on the veranda can't be beat. Very historic and welcoming place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Located in the very small town of Ft. Davis, this has been in the hotel business for 100 years or more. We stayed in a two room place located in the building behind the main house. The sitting room had a nice chair and sofa and a small TV (not flat screen). Wireless worked well. (One thing to know, the electric plugs are NOT the 3 hole (grounded) so you should bring the 2 plug to 3 plug converter for your computer etc.). The shower and bath were small by today's standard, but adequate. Plan to arrive well before 9pm because the entire town is shut down by then, including this place. There is a number to call for emergencies, and I assume if you arrive late, but I would avoid the issue and just be there well before that time. Very comfortable bed and quite peaceful place. We didn't get a chance to eat the hotel as the restaurant was closed on Monday and Tuesday. The Drugstore across the street has good food, so no inconvenience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Hotel Limpia is a really beautiful old inn. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The decor was very nice and there were lots of beautiful, light-filled areas to sit. They also have a lot of games and cards that you can use while you are staying. The fireplace is nice to sit next to and the receptionist was very nice. Tuxedo, the beautiful black and white kitty, is a lovebug and is a very nice addition to the inn. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtalley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed at Hotel Limpia many times over the past few years and never been disappointed! It is a quaint spot in the middle of magical lands of beauty. This past weekend I proposed to my girlfriend and surprised her with a stay at our favorite hotel! It was perfect! The staff secretly conspired with me and made our room amazing! They brought in flowers, decorated, and were super easy to work with. This is our favorite hotel ever!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I have loved our past stays at this hotel so much that we got married here! The courtyard and new ballroom were the perfect location for our simple but elegant wedding this past July and the staff helped the groom and I through every step of the usually very stressful details of decorations, food, etc. I can't imagine having had a wedding at a better locale.

This hotel has been under new management for a couple years now, and every time I visit this hotel I find it better and better. The front desk staff is excellent, and the new Blue Mountain Bistro is a perfect spot for anything you're craving and it's only a few steps from our hotel room. Our room is always clean and well-appointed and we love that we can bring our beloved dog. He goes everywhere with us and most pet-friendly hotel rooms we're left to stay in tend to be sub-par when it comes to cleanliness, but this establishment is a rare exception. I'd recommend anyone come and take a mini break or a big one at Hotel Limpia... trust me, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartly182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

During my recent stay at The Hotel Limpia I was more impressed than I thought possible. I rolled into Fort Davis via the North end of town during dusk and was greeted by lush, bright foliage and a captivating stretch of small downtown. The Hotel Limpia wasn't hard to find and the front desk staff greeted me by name with a warm smile: she had been waiting just for me. This was just the beginning of a magnificent weekend. I was surrounded by friendly faces and kind hearted staff doing everything to ensure my comfort. Everytime I ventured into the Bistro behind the hotel, I walked away with something delish for later or licking my lips from the melt in your mouth food (breakfast, lunch, dinner, and desserts galore!). There were plenty of local adventures to explore such as the Valentine 'Prada Store,' the eerie Marfa lights, and the one of a kind downtown of Alpine. The ammenities at The Hotel Limpia were of the highest quality: lovely, quiet, secluded rooms in the adjacent building and the pool were my haunts. Sitting on my room's front porch and rocking during the rain is something I especially relished. The rooms in the main building were so historic and rumoured to be haunted... such good stories! All in all I loved my stay and will definately plan a return trip to see what other magical memories The Hotel Limpia has up it's sleeve.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaHerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were in limp west. Had stayed in main hotel before and it was charming. This section with bird poop caked in large piles on stairways. Trash cans on outside areas not emptied the whole time we were here ( two nights). Won't stay here again but looked around at other options and will be back to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
21.2 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
515 reviews
20.4 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
286 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Limpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Limpia

Address: 101 Memorial Square, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range: $122 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Limpia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel located in the center of mile high Fort Davis, Texas. The Limpia has welcomed travelers to the Texas Mountains for over 100 years. We offer 31 rooms and suites, swimming pool, Blue Mountain Bar and Bistro, and gift shops. Located near the McDonald Observatory in the Davis Mountains of Far West Texas. Under new ownership as of October 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Limpia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing