We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly varied, thoughtful menu in a small town off the beaten track.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountain Bistro

Blue Mountain Bistro
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Fort Davis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Spanish, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly varied, thoughtful menu in a small town off the beaten track.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised to find a great restaurant in such an out-of-the-way place. Home cooked menu, with a professional staff. The ambiance and decoration drew us into a Fort Davis heritage feel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_Czerniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    95
    27
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bertram, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here on a recent Saturday night. We were seated at 6pm and were told that they were out of three menu items: the steak, salmon, and one other item that I can't remember. Really, it's only 6pm and they've already run out of three things!! We should have left but settled on the trout and Chicken Marsala. We were never asked if we wanted water and when I did ask, I was brought water but none for my husband. The food was mediocre at best and definitely overpriced for the quality. The sauce on the chicken was way too salty and tasted like a McCormick package mix. The rice had NO seasoning and the fish was bland. I've had better food at Lubys!! Should have driven down the road to Reata.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fine menu and wine selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

It's Fort Davis - would not expect to find the big city menu there, but we did. Excellent continental dishes described - two eaten! Pork tenderloin under a wonderful mocha sauce was really tasty. Salmon with green peppercorn cream sauce (sounds odd!) was delicious, as the sauce did not overpower the salmon like so many sauces do. Server's wonderful smile made up for her inexperience - she will be great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C_J_CCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmore, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food, excellent service, beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate dinner here before heading to McDonald Observatory. I had the grilled veggies over quinoa and my mom had the trout. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We sat outside, and the courtyard area was beautiful and charming. I must stop for dinner in Ft. Davis!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
568 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“West Texas French?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stopped in Fort Davis on our way to the McDonald Observatory from Martha and shopped at the shop connected to this bistro. We were still sort of loaded from our Mexican breakfast, so my wife went for the classic Caesar and I went for the salad and sandwich... small Caesar and 1/2 BLT.

The Caesar was fresh and had a light creamy dressing. My 1/2 BLT turned into a whole, but had perfect bacon and nice tomato and lettuce.

The setting inside was bistro all the way, but we opted for the garden setting outside. The service was friendly, but it was obvious that a leisurely lunch was in order as the solo server was also handling all of the inside tables and the bar. Rather than wait for the check, I just moseyed (you end up doing that in Texas) up to the bar and got rung out.

This is a place that I'd go back to to try their dinner offerings... as long as I had plenty of time on my hands.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountain Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mountain Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing