We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very over-priced. Eat in Alpine instead. ”

Blue Mountain Bistro
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Fort Davis
Price range: $15 - $45
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very over-priced. Eat in Alpine instead. ”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Your restaurant choices in Fort Davis are limited. That being said, Blue Mountain Bistro was a disappointment nonetheless. I ordered the pork tenderloin. The pork was tender and flavorful but it was topped with what tasted and looked like store-bought KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. For $19 the portion was small, too.

Others in my party ordered the Vegetable Plate (grilled vegetables over quinoa). On top of soggy quinoa sat multiple bell peppers (a "filler" vegetable) and 1/2 of a non-ripe tomato...for $16. Not cool.

Another person in my party had the hamburger. Again, beggars can't be choosers, but this burger was the kind you'd expect to be served if you ordered it at a seafood restaurant in the French Quarter.

Positives: super friendly staff and nice ambiance.

Helpful?
1 Thank SlipperyWeavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Blue Mountain Bistro, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We appreciate Slippery Weevil taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry they were not satisfied with the food or our pricing. Just to address specific points: The Red Eye sauce served with our mocha crusted pork tenderloin is certainly not from a bottle, but, like most everything else in our restaurant, is made from scratch daily from fresh ingredients including, onion, bacon, expresso, heavy cream, etc. The grilled vegetable dish typically includes a variety of freshly grilled vegetables over Quinoa with a side of marinara. It is a very popular vegetarian option (see other reviews). We will check with the cook on the night in question to be sure that something was not left off for some reason. As far as the hamburger goes, it is made from beef chuck ground fresh daily. I am not sure what a “French Quarter” hamburger tastes like, but most food I have had in the Quarter is excellent! We stand by our pricing as appropriate for the quality of food we offer. Thanks for the positive comments about our staff and décor. We hope that Slippery Weevil will give us another opportunity to provide excellent food and service in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    105
    30
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Came for lunch with my kids and parents. Love the historic feel. Enjoyed amazing elegant sandwiches. Loaded potato soup was to die for. My daughter asked for a cherry limeade. It's homemade. Hand squeezed to order. Really very good!!

Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Blue Mountain Bistro, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you Donald for taking the time to review your experience at Blue Mountain Bistro. We are really glad that your enjoyed your sandwiches and soup. We make all of our soups from scratch daily. Our server Jeanne really enjoyed making the lemonade for your daughter! We hope that when you return to Fort Davis you will try us for dinner! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Valentines Day Dinner”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Sophisticated yet down to hearth ambiance on Fort Davis.
Salmon with asparagus was delicious !
Great dinner before stargazing at the Mac Donald Observatory

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sattexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Blue Mountain Bistro, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. "Sophisticated yet down to earth" is exactly what we are aiming for here at the Bistro. We hope to see you on your next visit to Fort Davis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Upscale dining in Fort Davis . . .”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is the fanciest place in town, (and apparently the only place that can serve alcohol.)

We were surprised to find so sophisticated a menu in this very, very small town. In early February the Bistro was only open for dinner, but as the tourist season gets underway they will also open for lunch.

The menu overall was pretty varied and well-thought out. There is something here for just about everyone, including us vegetarians!

Unfortunately, the daily vegetarian special never ever varied during the week of our visit, and was always, always, always grilled-mixed-vegetables-over-quinoa. It was delicious once, but we really didn't want to eat it every day! Fortunately there were some nice salads, a soup, and a most excellent cheese board on the menu also.

Everything we tried here was expertly prepared.

Charming décor and attentive wait-staff, too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliette144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Blue Mountain Bistro, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you Juliette for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and our food. We are working on coming up with some additional vegetarian entrée options which we hope you will try on your next visit to Fort Davis.
Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Service”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The food was good. I don't know the price, was included in a bus trip total. They have a pretty bar with an average size TV.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrosas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountain Bistro also viewed

 
Fort Davis, TX
Fort Davis, TX
 

Been to Blue Mountain Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing