We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Mountain Bistro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mountain Bistro

Blue Mountain Bistro
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Fort Davis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Spanish, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Blue Mountain Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant has recently re-opened under the name Blue Mountain Bistro. It is the best full service upscale restaurant in Ft. Davis. Of course it is not Dallas or any other big city level or style -- but why would you be in Ft. Davis if you are looking for the big city??? It is definitely good, with a nice bar and diverse menu. The boeuf bourguignon is a unique recipe (quite tastey) and the trout is also quite good. The tomato bisque is as good as you can find. We had a reservation but I'm not sure you would need one every week. We were there on July 4th.

They were serving dinner outside on the patio while we were there but we elected to sit inside since it was a little hot outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    95
    27
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“A must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very good service very good, good atmosphere overall very very good. I recommend Blue Mountain Bistro in Fort Davis, TX

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains, Texas
1 review
“it is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

the patio is awsome the beers good cold the food is perfect the bar tender is a go gettin girl love this place first stop if u come thru town

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rude Owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

When we walked in and saw there was no one to seat us, we waited a few minutes before were greeted by the owner. She made it perfectly clear that we were a pain in the butt for being in her restaurant. She said that although she was the owner, she knew nothing about seating people. She asked her clearly overworked waiter to seat us which he did promptly and graciously. The food was barely edible. We will not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sylvial993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Blue Mountain Bistro, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are sorry that the guest was not satisfied with our restaurant. Apparently, they misinterpreted our desire to serve them on a night on which we were understaffed with rudeness. We stand firmly behind the quality of our food. This person has rated all but one of the restaurants that they reviewed on Trip Advisor as "terrible", so we can only assume that they are extremely difficult to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
“Awesome Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

6-28-13 After a long 8 hour drive from Dallas to Ft. Davis, my fiance and I checked into the Indian Lodge and decided to drive into town for dinner. It was recommended we make reservations, so we did. We arrived and were promptly seated in the quaint dining room.

Our server, Savanah, didn't hover over us but tended to our every need including taking a couple of pictures of my birthday celebration. I ordered the tenderloin with a mocha redeye sauce that was "finger licking good". My fiance had the steak with au gratin potatoes and was ready to lick the plate when he was done. We both agreed that these 2 dishes were the best tasting meals we've had in years and a pleasant surprise for a very small town. We were so satisfied that we didn't consider dessert but being a chocolate lover, I couldn't resist the chocolate mousse. The portion was big enough for 2 and it was "deeelicious" to say the least.

After our meal, we moved to the outdoor patio for a couple of drinks. It was very serene and relaxing and a perfect way to end a perfect evening. We both highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely return here at our next visit to Ft. Davis.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Never2old2dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountain Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mountain Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing