We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Understaffed!”

Fort Davis Drug Store & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Fort Davis
Price range: $4 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Fort Davis Drug Store and Hotel is an iconic business in the heart of Fort Davis, TX. It features the original Soda Fountain and Ice Cream plus Sweet Shop and Restaurant, Gift Shop and Hotel. People tell us all the time it is the very heartbeat of our community. The Historic Hotel has 6 spacious rooms with private baths in each room. Two beds in every room.
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Understaffed!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This place has lots of business because of the location. If you want ice cream or a quick hamburger then this place is not bad. If you want anything else expect to wait, and wait, and wait! We went with a large group for dinner and had to wait for more than an hour and a half to get our meal. It was over cooked and not really even hot. Service was lacking and the waiter was overwhelmed taking orders. Try Murphy's Pizzeria instead if you want good food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    260
    127
    33
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OLD TIME DRUG STORE”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We recently spent three days in Ft. Davis.
We had lunch and breakfast at the Drug Store.
It is right next door to the Harvard Hotel on Main Street.
Food is very good. Large portions! Good value.
Friendly service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasKeepExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
714 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Super satisfying real food”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I had nearly given up all hope on my Trans-Texas Bicycle Odyssey my 3rd day out when fantastic Border Patrol Agents Lilly & Jay resupplied me with fresh clean drinking water (absolutely essential wherever you are!) and I was able to continue pedaling. Instead of bucking a horrible headwind to Marfa, I took alternate routes 505/166/17 into historic Ft. Davis. This thriving community serves tourists as well as a local ranching/farming population. One of the highlights for me was satisfying my perpetually empty stomach at the Drug Store, within the Dumas Building. STEAK was the entree for me, as well as fudge and an old-fashioned vanilla ice cream shake served at a class soda fountain/long bar with stools. I also had a fortifying breakfast there before pedaling South to Marfa!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanito_Hayburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service lacking; food ok; ambience appealing”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Expected this would be a delightful visit back to the soda fountains of yesteryear.

Food was ok, but service lacking. Felt like we were huge imposition to waitress. Someone could make a killing in Ft Davis if they opened a restaurant that emphasized customer service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snaper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Average meal - but wonderful fudge!”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I loved Fort Davis. What a great little Western town. We stopped for lunch here at the old fashioned and cute Fort Davis Drug Store. I had a chicken sandwich with salad and chips ( crisps, not fries ). This was OK..but the chicken was tough and dry. I couldn't finish it. However I bought 2 pieces of fudge, Maple Walnut and a Chocolate Nut one, which were divine. I should have got more!!!
The staff were very nice and the place had a good atmosphere, and even though I think my meal was not worth the price, the fudge definitely was.
I was really impressed by the Texas-shaped toilet roll holders in the ladies restroom!!! Where can I get one of those!!!???

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catwic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Davis Drug Store & Hotel also viewed

 
Fort Davis, TX
 

Been to Fort Davis Drug Store & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing