We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to Eat in Fort Davis”
Review of The Black Bear

The Black Bear
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Fort Davis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
El Paso, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The best place to Eat in Fort Davis”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Tasty food and great service.. It's changed alright....for the better. No deep-fried selection anymore. While menu is limited, there is usually a buffet ready to offer tempting dishes. Pastries are out of this world. The view is nothing short of stunning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matocantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    67
    47
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've been visiting the Fort Davis area for the past 30 years and have eaten at Black Bear many times. This year definite changes have been made to the restaurant. Perhaps it is because the Park is undergoing renovations until next spring. Menu choices on this Thursday night were very limited, the salad bar was gone and a cheeseburger and fries now cost $12. Service was friendly and efficient and the food quality is fine. Time will tell if this new version of an old reliable will be viable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swtgrad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's changed”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was a definite place to eat during the September Cyclefest in the past.
However, the menu is down to a tattered single sheet of paper with about half a dozen menu choices. Period. Their hallmark CC sandwich is gone. The food quality was OK. Not great. Veggies on my pasta were over cooked.
Service was very cordial.
Sorry to see the changes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank horseshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Who'da thunk it?”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Indian Lodge in the Fort Davis Mountains and I was prepared to make sandwiches in our room, expecting the worst from whatever food might be offered there. Boy was I wrong! Chef Connie Cornett made the most incredible breakfasts and satisfying dinners. The chicken fried steak was made with beef tenderloin, incredibly tender with the lightest crust I ever tasted. It was undoubtedly the best chicken fried steak I have ever eaten. Connie sources her produce and dairy products from local farmers. Her pie crusts, granola, quiches are all made from scratch. I would go out of my way to eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great bfast”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

ordered one breakfast and split it two ways. the bfast platters are big. The pancakes and fresh fruit were really nice the eggs cooked to perfection. Enjoyed exploring the indian lodge after we ate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janeruggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bear also viewed

 

Been to The Black Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing