We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A happy place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Trails Lodge
dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A happy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've stayed here numerous times...just haven't yet written a review. I absolutely love coming here. Scott and Jenny are truly amazing hosts (friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and great cooks). The cabins are comfortable and sit underneath a beautiful night sky. I so enjoy going to visit – and get that way whenever I can. The Mountain Trails Lodge has become my home away from home

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
32
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Mountain Trails Lodge. The owners were friendly and helpful. The cabin was nicely furnished and very clean. The beds were very comfortable, and the wi-fi worked well. We had everything we needed and more. The views from our back porch were great (see picture). We enjoyed starting our days with the delcious home-cooked breakfasts and ending our nights with spectacular views of the starry night skies. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Best bang for the buck. Jenny and her husband are gems.We are already planning on going next year! The cabins are modest but comfortable. The beds were great, slept like are rock with the windows opens. The pavilion at the lodge was comfortable which allowed us to cook out every night. Jenny cooks the best French toast and omlets. We rose early to view beautiful sunrises and went to bed late to see bright shining stars. Must sees:Fort Davis Historical Site and McDonald Observatory. The drive on the way is breath taking, we captured great pics from the highest point on the mountain-6000feet! When in town visit: the fudge shop inside drug store, Fort Davis nut company, Murphy"a Pizza-there is a live tree standing in the middle of the restaurant! Balmorhea Springs is a must! It rained during our trip there, we had fun none the less. Word of caution-due to the algae take swim shoes or wear skele-toes the bottom is slippery. Finally on the way in you have to stop in Pecos at the "West of the Pecos Museum". This is for those that love the Wild, Wild West gun fighter era.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great place to enjoy the mountains. Simple and quaint with plenty of amenities like Internet, breakfast, and in-room microwaves, shower, and refrigerator.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spent two nights at this lovely lodge with a group of friends and family. Our primary purpose was scuba diving at the Balmorhea State Park, so we didn't spend a great deal of time here. However, we were able to do our own cookout Saturday evening in the bar-b-q pavilion with a nice gas grill. Liked having a place to congregate comfortably outdoors, as it is much cooler in the evenings here than down in the valley. Breakfast was wonderful and we felt like we had made life-long friends by the time we left.

Rooms are basic, with microwave, small fridge, and sink; two double beds. Very quiet and comfortable -- I slept like a rock! No loud partying or passersby to disturb the slumber. Great place for a group to go. Even have a nice indoor gathering room when the weather or situation is not right for enjoying the great outdoors.

We will definitely book here again!

Room Tip: Front rooms face the main lodge, Rear rooms face the scenery and a nearby cemetery (just in case you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We took a small group and really enjoyed our stay! The accommodations were great! The hospitality was second to none! Great food, and we even got to do a little BBQ at the pavilion! So fun and relaxing! Would recommend it over and over again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubacecily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We took a Spring Break road trip through West Texas with our two boys, and of all the places we stayed along our route, this was our favorite. (We stayed two nights.) When we arrived, there was a fairly large group of high school science club students staying as well, and were pleasantly surprised that it never felt crowded. The way the property is laid out, we had an opportunity to enjoy quite a bit of peace and quiet. It was also fun for the family to stay in non-traditional type of lodging (rather than cookie-cutter hotels and motels). Our room faced away from downtown Ft. Davis, so we had a chance to look out over some expansive hills. The night skies there are absolutely indescribably vast and beautiful. The location is easily accessible to Ft. Davis, the Chihuahuan Desert Nature Center, and the McDonald Observatory. The breakfasts in the mornings were terrific, and the owner (Jenny) was as kind and welcoming as could be. I would highly recommend Mountain Trails Lodge if you're headed to the Ft. Davis area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
20.6 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
20.3 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
20.5 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Trails Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trails Lodge

Property: Mountain Trails Lodge
Address: 501 E. Musquiz Drive, Fort Davis, TX 79734 (Formerly Davis Mountains Lodge & Expeditions)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the quiet of the Davis Mountains envelope you. From your cabin's private porch, away from television and distractions, listen to the sounds of nature and watch for birds and wildlife. Our Lodge lies on a serene hillside overlooking the Chihuahuan Desert, less than a mile south of historic Fort Davis. Cabins feature two double beds or one queen bed, kitchenette, climate control, private bath and high-speed wireless Internet. A large-screen TV with DishNetwork satellite is available in the family room, a short walk from cabins. Effective January 2015, breakfast is NO LONGER included. Come & Take It BBQ will re-open on site in March 2015. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing