We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but lovely and weather is wonderful in August!”

Davis Mountains State Park
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Fort Davis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The scenic landscape is great for bird watching, biking and more.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Small but lovely and weather is wonderful in August!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The park is in a creek valley (dry creek) and the lodge faces the exit of the valley which makes for a fabulous sunrise each morning.

The park is small compared to Big Bend National Park with only a few short hiking trails. The Skyline Hike is a nice hike up a small stream bed and then up the hill/mountain to the highest point in the park providing great views of the park, the town of Ft. Davis, and the valleys over the hill. You can also drive up Skyline Drive in your car to get the same views.

We stayed at Indian Lodge and I give it a four-star review as well. It would have been 5-stars if the other guests with small children would have been more respectful of other guests.

The only reason I didn't give this park 5-stars was because it was a bit too small for hiking--no long loop trails and not any trails going to a destination (spring, mountain-top, etc.).

Staff great. Great facilities. Some hiking across the road in the primitive area but lots of weeds and not maintained.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayziewazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    105
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Davis Mts. State Park is one of my favorite places in Texas. It always feels like I have traveled far away when we come here, even though it's only 6 hours from San Antonio. We hiked several of the trails and the views were spectacular! I also loved the bird viewing area at the Interpretive Center. I literally spent hours there looking at some beautiful birds like the Lesser Goldfinch, Summer Tanager, and Grosbeaks!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family fun”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came to the park to hike and see the sights. The park rangers pointed out the best hiking trails to take kids on. After a little hiking we went to the restaurant in the park for lunch. What a nice surprise! They had great lunch choices and the food was high quality. I would like to try going there for dinner sometime. After lunch we enjoyed a drive through the park. There were a lot scenic points where you could park and get out and explore and enjoy the view. Next time we will plan on spending more time in the park. There is a motel next to the restaurant and a gift shop. That looks like a nice place to stay sometime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJmama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Why did we wait so long to visit”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Historical Indian Lodge in the original part and we loved it. Normally we take our RV but because of the history of the park we treated our selves. The park it self has lots of nice hiking trails and great views. One direction you can see the McDonald Observatory and the other direction the town of Ft. Davis. With in a short and lovely drive over Wild Rose Pass you can go for a swim in one of the best swimming holes in Texas , Balmorhea SP( avoid the weekends). Going back as soon as we can.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocker54evet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Hike”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Although the woman at the information center said this was the most strenuous hike, it was really very easy. Nevertheless, the vistas were fabulous and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the wide range of plants that grow in these mountains. A nice, relaxing outing - good for taking pictures of the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davis Mountains State Park also viewed

 

Been to Davis Mountains State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing