We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One day enough”

Davis Mountains State Park
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Fort Davis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The scenic landscape is great for bird watching, biking and more.
Flint Hills, Kansas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“One day enough”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Indian Lodge 2 nights to visit the state park. The lodge is nice with a good location in the mountain valley
We did a couple of hikes with the best one that starts at the lodge and goes to the top of the mountain behind it and around and back down to the campgrounds. The other longer hike was along the skyline trail and it was not as nice. One day doing the lodge hike would have been enough and we could have spent an extra day at Big Bend in that case.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stonestacker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    107
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This park is something you must see. Make you take thr scenic drive in the park. The weather was not great while we were there it was still so beautiful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Campsite Thanksgiving”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

November is a great time of the year to visit and spend 5 days at the Davis Mountains State Park. Cool enough to make a campfire your best friend at night with tolerable lows in the low 40's to low 30's depending on the time of night. We experienced a freeze every night but not coolder than 25 degF. With the dry air the days warmed enough that we had to shed clothing when hiking or biking. The park has recovered nicely from the fires a few years ago. The wildlife has returned in abundance, especially the deer which can be hand fed. The burn ban was lifted the week we were there since a few light showers came and went.

Not too many tent campers there. RV camping is the staple method up in the high country. Plan early to get a full connection site otherwise bring a sewer tote. There is plenty of room for large rigs (mine is a 36 foot 5th wheel) in many places. Call park and ask for the best suited spots. The rangers there are very knowledgeable regarding the park's design and capabilities. As with all State Parks, sites are first come first serve. Try and plan to arrive as early as possible to get the best sites.


Hiking is the most plentiful thing to do in the park. Bring a walking stick and hiking boots with good soul support. Biking in the park is on paved roads. Fort Davis national historic site is a great place to visit and ponder how life once was. The McDonald Observatory has tours daily in its 102" telescope. At night don't miss the laser light star gazer show. Great to see that in the summer as well for seeing a different sky.

Park facilities are top notch. This is the only state park that has its own eatery in the Indian Lodge. Cell phone service is reachable at the lodge and up on the hill tops. The park is nestled in a canyon setting.

All in all this is an excellent State Park.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“'Beauty and the Beasts'”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We always visit the state park when in Fort Davis, especially when not staying at the Indian Lodge, the parks beautiful inn. (Little history; built by the CCC in the 1930's).
Overall the state park is a great place to visit or stay overnight. It's views are majestic, the rooms are great in rustic adobe, the food at the restaurant is usually good and when in the park we always run across a couple of cute javelinas (not to be confused with the unrelated wild boar) hanging out forging for food.

Helpful?
1 Thank MOETX12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

75 miles of gorgeous scenery. There were many houses out in the mountains but I wouldn't want to live out there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davis Mountains State Park also viewed

 

Been to Davis Mountains State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing