We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I remembered! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!”
Review of Indian Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed an entire summer at Indian Lodge when I was a kid and had the most amazing time. Swimming, hiking, looking at the stars, seeing the Marfa Lights. When I went back last year, nearly 20 years later, I wasn't sure what to expect. While the hotel was not as grand as the 7-year-old me remembers it was a wonderful experience! I stayed with a group of friends; we swam, hiked, played volleyball, went looking for the Marfa Lights, the whole nine yards. It was just as good of an experience as I expected. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the restaurant was cheap, fast, and good, and, for our money, the overall value couldn't have been better! I recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmgr226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 378 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

This is a fantastic place to stay in the Davis Mountains. Beautiful setting, great birding and a wonderful lodge. We stayed in the Historic Section in a King Room. The only negative is that we could hear the people in the room above us walking around. You might want to stay in an upper level room. The restaurant serves very good simple food. It was nice to have a restaurant on property. If you are somewhat fit, be sure to hike the ridge above the lodge in the early morning. Fantastic views!!! Don't miss a Star Party at nearby McDonald Observatory.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Indian Lodge was built by the CCC in the 1930s and updated over the years without losing its historical character. Located in the Davis Mountains, it offers access to interesting geography, flora and fauna, an old Fort and the McDonald Observatory.
The restaurant offers only satisfactory cooking, but the advantages of being in the Davis Mountains outweigh any negatives.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gouvernail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

At first yes we were happy with the rooms but as night came we were staying at a room that was on the first floor and had a second floor above. The whole night we could loudly hear every single footstep the above customers took. We were not happy about that. One time the above tennants stomped so loud parts of the cement of the second floor fell to the floor. That morning the front desk apologized and helped us get into another room. The restaurant had really good food and the customer service was great. Other than that if you plan to stay make sure it's in a room without a second room above.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mavila2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We joined eleven other family members at the Indian Lodge for 5 days of visiting, hiking, cook outs, and day trips. The hotel is an absolute gem, hidden away in a valley of the Davis Mts. The weather was gorgeous, especially the 'no humidity' part! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will not hesitate to go back if the opportunity arises. We took a day trip to hike Santa Elena Canyon in Big Bend, which was stunning. One night was spent searching for Marfa Lights (too cloudy) but fun adventure none the less! We hiked the Skyline Drive trail from up top to Ft. Davis Historic Site below, and hiked the mountain behind the lodge. Both gave us stunning views on the area. We highly recommend this lodge to anyone looking for peace and quiet! Go, See, Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Indian Lodge is a great place for a peaceful, relaxing stay. The lodge is constructed to resemble a pueblo, and the rooms carry on the southwest theme. There are beautiful views of the Davis Mountains. The restaurant is decent, nothing gourmet but price is reasonable and portions are large.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is a truly unique lodging! The buildings are awesome as was the hand built furniture. A great community room is available with big tables and plenty of games and puzzles. There were many pictures showing members of the CCC building the roads and lodging in the 1930's.
A very small gift shop is available. It is chock full of shirts and books and supplies that you might need.
There are swings and chairs throughout the grounds for you to sit and read or enjoy the scenery.

There are several traiheads close by.
There is a pool too - if only it was a little warmer while we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winepourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
20.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
300 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
421 reviews
24 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
585 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
518 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge

Address: Hwy 118, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Fort Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing