We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
229
127
19
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
127
19
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black bear restaurant state park davis mountains mcdonald observatory hiking trails adobe style texas parks new section historic rooms nice pool lobby area a fantastic place to stay salad bar double bed short drive hot water adobe walls
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 387 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Newly remodeled rooms have good A/C though you won’t need it at night even in the middle of a Texas summer. Our room was spacious. Staff is very nice. Rooms do not have refrigerator or microwave and restaurant is not open Sunday evening through Tuesday so bring a cooler or plan to drive into town. Cool, clean pool and large covered patio to enjoy the evenings.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

Is Indian Lodge perfect? No. But will you get great service, great rooms and great hikes along with views. Hell yes.
My wife and two sons (10 & 15) had a great time in the pool, hiking and exploring the Davis mountains.
Every issue we brought up to the staff was addressed and addressed quickly. The hikes in the park were fantastic. Fort Davis has very good restaurants, but they do close earlier than in large cities.
The pool was great and my sons loved that it went 8 1/2 feet deep.
The only thing lacking was WiFi and cell service. But if you’re going to a park or even west Texas, this will be an issue anywhere.
If you’re looking for a family vacation where you can connect, you won’t find many places for the same price.
The black bear restaurant is very good also. It wasn’t open for dinner, but we enjoyed every meal there.

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank moorm011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

This is a fantastic place to stay. There are 2 types of rooms. The historic rooms and those that were built after. The historic rooms are smaller but accommodating. Better plan early for your reservation.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank twoodard0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

How can you give an evaluation to an iconic destination? No its not quite the Taj Mahal or the Statue of Liberty but this little hotel is a destination unto itself. Built by the CCC in the 1930s with adobe walls, wood floors, solid timber ceilings and hand made "Indian pictograph" furniture, the hotel was increased to 39 rooms in the 1960s. More recent expensive renovations have given the newer rooms the feel and look of the old. The old rooms have been updated as well. It is run by the state of Texas. For good reason it is not easy to get a reservation but reasonably priced. Numerous hikes are available at the park and nearby locations. The national historic park, Ft. Davis fort has been improved dramatically in the last 30 years (our last visit). The drive from Balmorhea to Ft. Davis is one of the most beautiful in Texas.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanAntonioTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for our July 4th getaway. This place is really iconic and historic. We had two rooms in the new section (each with a double bed). I loved the remoteness of no internet, no wifi, and no cell service as it let's you take in the beauty of the location. There are multiple hiking trails and various items to do in Marfa (lights), Alpine and Fort Davis. One day we hiked from the hotel to the fort. The hotel as a second story viewing balcony that allows you to watch weather down the canyon. I. The rafters were bird nests of baby barn swallow. On a clear night you can see the milky way and so many stars because of the altitude and lack of light pollution. And the staff is friendly, friendly. Friendly!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews