We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historic lodge”
Review of Indian Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great historic lodge”
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We love the old CCC lodging so this was a great experience for us. You definitely want to stay in the historic section. We were in room 124 which is an upper corner room with a double bed. There are a few rooms with king beds and a couple that have two full beds. Be sure to check out their website so that you can see where the different rooms are. The rooms are not all configured the same, but they all have been updated with nice bath facilities. One negative is that when the heat came on during the night it was a little noisey (a high pitch whistling sound).

We ate breakfast and dinner at the onsite restraunt. Breakfast was very good, but the dinner was just OK. I suggest that you bring snack/lunch items to eat on your shared patio. Remember that public display of alcohol is not allowed so bring your opaque cups.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveTX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    121
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
116
168
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midland Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I loved the atmosphere and location of the place. Very friendly people

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Indian Lodge this past weekend. We stayed in the original section with my elderly parents. We had fantastic weather and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The place is incredible with a fascinating history, plenty of things to do in the area like visit the McDonald Observatory, the old fort, hike in the state park and on the Fort Davis property, and visit the Chihuahua Desert Research Center. And there is no place like the lodge itself. it is for people who enjoy history and nature, but perhaps don't want to camp.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorwoman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We drove across Texas to visit the Davis Mountains and Big Bend, with a particular desire to stay in the historic section of Indian Lodge - and what a wonderful trip! Had no idea the area was so scenic, especially with some autumn color on the drive to Indian Lodge. Our 2-room suite was spacious and comfortable, though the sofa bed could use a new mattress. The views from the Lodge are wonderful. The restaurant was a great convenience - not a gourmet delight, but more than adequate, and the service was fast and friendly. The park rangers at the entrance were always helpful and handed out good advice (be sure to fill your tank and take plenty of water for the drive to Big Bend, for instance). We loved it, and plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaire5112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

This was our first visit to indian Lodge. We had heard much about how wonderful it is, but our experience was so-so. We had a room on the upper part of the historic section, with great views. Agree with previous posters about the rooms--worth the trip to see the building, which has been restored to original, but with nicer bathroom fixtures. The lobby and the room above it is worth exploring, too. BUT the employees at park entrance couldn't get us out of their little hut fast enough (appeared to be having a reunion with someone they hadn't seen for a while), not even giving us park maps and info. When we went to the Lodge office a bit too early to check in, we received equally cool treatment--had to practically beg to get a park map. When we finally did check in, and asked how many rooms were filled that night (all but 2), the comment, "...but we're ALWAYS full" told us that they have all the guests they need already, and don't need to work very hard to get new ones. Room was clean...except for the tissue behind the headboard and the bedside table drawer which had food wrappers, bandage wrappers, and some broken wood pieces from bed and chair. It appears that they clean all open surfaces very well, but don't look in less-obvious places. Food in the restaurant was just edible the first night (wilted salad bar, apparently canned vegetables with entrees) but better the second night. At breakfast the first morning, one of us left because no waitress bothered to check to see if there were customers; our last morning we didn't bother with breakfast, since the restaurant lights weren't on at 7 a.m. when it is supposed to open. The park is pretty, Skyline Drive offers wonderful views, and the hike up the hill behind the lodge is great, but now that we've seen the lodge, we don't need to go back. I would recommend only to those interested in the architecture.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellittle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I hesitate to write this review because I like this place so much, I really do not want to share it. But this place is so great that it deserves the praise.

The original building was built in the 30's by the CCC, and has since been upgraded, expanded and modernized. The new rooms are very clean and spacious. The older rooms have great views and are also very nice, but if you have "mobility issues" be sure to mention it to the desk when you make your reservations as some of the older rooms are up several half flights of stairs.

It is the character and atmosphere of Indian Lodge that makes it so special. We go there to "get away from it all" and to bird watch and star gaze. The bird watching is enhanced by two nice "blinds" that attract birds & let visitors see them with out disturbing the little critters. The night skys are spectacularly clear. If you go plan to go on a moonless night and sign up for one of the star parties at nearby McDonald Observatory.

The on-site restaurant is not fancy, but the food is good, plentiful, and will not cost you an arm & a leg. If you want something on a higher level, Ft. Davis and the Limpia Hotel dining room are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TexasTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We spent two memorable nights here. This place is ideal to socialize and we had so much interesting conversations with other guests, be it Harley Davidson riders or a bunch of very funny and lively guys having their class reunion (of 1954!).
Due to a for us not easy to understand state law about "drinking in public" these people had to poor their wine in a plastic cup or hide their can of beer in a paper bag like a street bum when they wanted to have a chat on the porch. This same ore a similar law makes that you cannot have a glass of wine or beer with your dinner. I had to rince down my humble meal with iced tea (yuk!).
But still and as said: our stay was fantastic and was only briefly disturbed by an unanounced visitor in our room...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stadenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
23.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
24.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge

Property: Indian Lodge
Address: Hwy 118, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Fort Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing