We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iconic lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Indian Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Iconic lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Fort Davis Indian Lodge is an iconic southwest type of building.
Nice wood floors, shutters for the windows, comfortable beds.
The restaurant is pretty good considering how far away they are from everything and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful. No beer or wine because they are in a state park, but the manager said they're working on it.

Nice hike right from the lodge, and a spectacular drive near there.

If you want to go to the Observatory it's the best spot to stay, everything else is further.

Didn't try the pool, but it looked nice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooneyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    119
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
115
163
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

First time visit to Fort Davis area....but wont be the last. Indian Lodge is a must stay. Beautiful scenery. People smile here, are relaxed and friendly. Perfect place for one on one time, relax and enjoy the clean, crisp air. Great 60' long swimming pool for laps during warmer weather. Tons of places to sit outside, read a book, observe nature, star gaze. Loved the side by side huge porch swings. Nice wishing well on site. Rooms were clean and comfortable. TV but no internet, which is perfect. Everything is well built and good quality. Black Bear restaurant had a fantastic Sunday brunch, Great cook.
Enjoyed reading about the history of Indian Lodge in the common area. Nice well built leather and wood furniture, featuring huge fireplace. Private little game room upstairs with another fireplace, featuring a set of huge dominoes, and classic board games.
Be sure and book a star party at nearby McDonald Observatory well in advance, and take the scenic drive. Though state park is currently closed under renovation, good hiking opportunities at nature trail on Hwy 118 between Alpine and Fort Davis, which was also a scenic drive.
All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpechal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Have been staying here for about 30 years....love Indian Lodge! Albeit a bit rundown from previous visits, especially the big xeriscape garden by the pool, I figure it's due to their park renovation & state park funding cuts. Texas State Parks need more money, Gov. Perry!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The lodge is nestled in state park,dark skies, quiet nights.Rooms are clean but small, beds are comfortable.There are lots of places to explore on the grounds.Black Bear Restaurant has very good food, I liked their house dressing Parsley citrus, Breakfast was great all you can eat for $10.00.If you like sunrise ask for a room that faces the east.Room 117 or 118 would be ideal.
If your a night person take a walk down to the end of the street and around the corner,you won't believe how many stars are in the skies we stayed up till 3:00 am star gazing,if you want to really see stars drive up Skyline Drive just before dark Panoramic views!
The only drawback was the patio outside the lounge room is a housing for birds where they poop on all the furniture, it would have been nice to sit out there for the sunrise.

Room Tip: Upstairs or the new part doors facing east.rooms 123 and 124 back up to parking lot and lots of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in the original section with the old cedar furniture and floors and ceilings. if you are a light sleeper ask for an upstairs room. We were downstairs and heard every step the lodger upstairs took over us.(that was really the only part that was a detraction). the rooms were clean, the bathrooms beautiful and clean, well stocked with towels and toiletries. Outside our room was patio furniture that was relatively private and enjoyable for a morning coffee and a read. There's a TV if you must have one. The price is reasonable and if you are looking for a mountain get away that's not as far this place is great. There is camping available, hiking trails, a few eateries in town as well as a restaurant on site that makes a respectable breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nas1497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights recently. The park was officially closed but the Lodge was still open for guests. Ideally located for a tranquil start to our 3 week vacation in Texas.
There are a couple of trails near by which are fairly easy if you stay out of the mid day sun - the short trail to Fort Davis is good (with a slightly alternative route back to the trail head)

Restaurant is fairly basic but food was ok. The pool is relaxing. The night sky is magnificent.

Talking of night sky - the MacDonald Observatory star party is a good way to spend a couple of hours and is only a short drive away

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Although the Park is technically closed, the Lodge, restaurant, pool, and trails are open. So there are many fewer people than usual. We had the old honeymoon suite which is a large room in the historic section. It was very quiet with four sets of windows. The king bed is really comfy!

The only negative is the WIFI connection is bad in this room. But it's good in the activity room and other areas of the Lodge. The hiking trails are strenuous but beautiful. Go early before the sun is intense. We saw mule deer and javelinas.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SoWhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
23.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
24.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge

Property: Indian Lodge
Address: Hwy 118, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Fort Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing