We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in area. Hidden gem!”
Review of Indian Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Best food in area. New chef in December Connie Cornett is brilliant best migas this side of the border. Divine desserts, excellent chicken Marsala. Helpful staff . Prefer old part of hotel but not downstairs as you can hear people above.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HCtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 379 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just visited last weekend (Feb.) and loved our overnight stay. It was very peaceful at this time and so more romantic for us, but I imagine it could be a more fun-style getaway too for families. The room was spacious and comfortable and was so uniquely and beautifully decorated, like staying in a cozy museum, and had beautiful views of the surroundings. I can't say enough about the surroundings, they are perfect, and the way the hotel fits into them is really impressive. The rooms were more luxurious than I would have expected and yet you felt close to nature, it was absolutely a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "original section" of the hotel. I never did see the more newly renovate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wife and i stayed there in late oct12 for our five year anniversary. Stayed in the updated rooms. They are the quietest because there is nobody above you. Rooms are nice and original. Matresses are subpar however.

The area outside of these rooms has pretty much a straight shot down to the valley and you can get a decent cell phone signal for those who need to stay in touch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyBtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the smallest room of the original hotel. It didnt have a view but we didnt mind. The staff was great. We loved the look of the hotel & the setting.....gorgeous! The restaurant was decent.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Brittney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff is outstanding. Rooms are very comfortable. Location is outstanding. Views are to die for.
This is a place to relax with family and friends and enjoy the west Texas views.Located in the Ft. Davis state park you can enjoy the hiking trails as well as visit the nearby McDonald Observatory.
The property has the Black Bear restaurant on site serving breakfast,lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffantonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here on a trip. Even though the area was ravaged by fires a few years ago, it is starting to grow back. We loved the lodge. It was built by the CCC boys, and it is very rustic. The rooms were comfortable, and we loved trekking around the area. Beautiful mountains, lovely room, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarterJ221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Indian Lodge is a real gem in Davis Mountains State Park outside of Ft. Davis, Texas. It was build in 1933 by the Civilian Conservation Corps, but it comfortably up to date. We were surprised by a TV. It also has a very nice restaurant and small gift shop. The rooms are large with beautiful ceilings, and the grounds are well maintained and interesting with several small courtyards. There is a large room on the second floor as a place to gather. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. If you want to explore this area, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
23.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
423 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
304 reviews
24 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
585 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
77 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge

Address: Hwy 118, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Fort Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing