We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Murphy's Pizzeria & Cafe - CLOSED

Murphy's Pizzeria & Cafe
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I felt like a night in at our Hotel so we got some beer and pizza from Murphys. I honestly wasn't expecting too much, it's a small country town etc but wow, was I wrong!

The option of picking your own toppings is a great notion and more pizza places should adopt it. The base was lovely and thin cooked perfectly. It was a bit cheesy for me but I still enjoyed it very much!

We both got a personal size pizza each and a garlic bread which set us back a bit over $30 which we thought was a bit pricey but they have to make their money. It was worth it though.

The staff are so friendly and welcoming too, it was a pleasure to go in there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMDO1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    13
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Murphy's hit the spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was really surprised to walk into this small pizza "joint" and walk out wanting to go back the next day! As another said, the wait was a bit long, but they were slammed and we had friends to talk with, so the wait was absolutely worth it. Thin and crispy crust like I love and sauce & toppings were fresh & tasty. Super nice folks and will absolutely go there next time too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaspamrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great thin crust pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visiting from Dallas. I had the veggie pizza and it was great! The thin crust is the best I've had in a LONG time. Came back another day and had the BBQ chicken pizza, which was also great. Much better than most of the pizza restaurants in Dallas. Took a little while to get our order, but wasn't in a hurry in the first place. It was definitely worth the wait. Highly recommend the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizza pretty darn good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The pizza was way better than I expected. The crust was thin and crispy but not too thin. Pretty much just the way I like it. The only negative was the wait. It took a while to get our pizza but it was worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ricker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming place...pizza not so much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I hesitate to be too harsh...these folks seem really nice and the location was really well designed and fun (read live tree growing in the dining room). However I thought the pizza was average at best. Thin crust had potential...but wasn't well cooked. It was very busy and we waited almost an hour to get it...and we were underwhelmed. I don't think I would go back....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NawlinsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Pizzeria & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing