We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place...pizza not so much”
Review of Murphy's Pizzeria & Cafe - CLOSED

Murphy's Pizzeria & Cafe
Cuisines: Pizza
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming place...pizza not so much”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I hesitate to be too harsh...these folks seem really nice and the location was really well designed and fun (read live tree growing in the dining room). However I thought the pizza was average at best. Thin crust had potential...but wasn't well cooked. It was very busy and we waited almost an hour to get it...and we were underwhelmed. I don't think I would go back....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NawlinsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    13
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goliad, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the stop”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The chicken was raw and the pizza undercooked. When you are traveling and take your food back to the room to eat you have no recourse in returning the food...this was expensive food to be given to the critters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Analisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goliad, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The place smelled great and the food we saw out of the kitchen looked great but when we got ours we went back to where we were staying. The chicken wings were raw and the pizza was undercooked. A lot of money for food we could not eat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Analisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The cust is thin it's made from scratch. It does take sometime to cook but it is worth the wait. The staff is friendly

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jcraft17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Someone recommended this place to us. Maybe we arrived at a bad time, because we were very disappointed. It was after lunch and we were starving. They didn't appear too busy, but It was a long time before anyone took our order even though we were standing a the register. It took an even longer time to get our food ,like almost an hour. The people working there acted as if they wish we would just go away. The food was small, not that good and expensive. We ordered personal pizzas. The crust was thin and tough, we were not given a choice in the crust, and it was over cooked. My daughter didn't feel after eating there. I would not go back there or recommend it anyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJmama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Pizzeria & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing