We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stone Village Tourist Camp
Ranked #3 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I had to come back and this time I brought my daughter and granddaughter. This time we stayed in a camp room. It was perfect! We had fresh air thru the locked screen door, not too hard and not too soft mattresses and a rollaway bed. We enjoyed picnics near the pool, in the shade of big trees from the deli store steps away. If you enjoy personal service from a caring owner, you will love it.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 162 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

Enjoyed our stay, the room was nice and clean, fun to stay in a tourist camp, been a few years! Very helpful owner.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

stayed in the truehart house. it was very nice to stay somewhere that had so much character, but our suite was quite cold at night. the outside temp was in the 30s & we couldn't get the inside temp to 70. the folks in the other suite said that the temp in their suite was 58. otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay & thought the location was great.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank kolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Our stay was reminiscent of a popular animated movie about cars who ran a small town off the interstate. The room even had an actual key. While it could have been cleaner it was definitely older, quaint and adequate. The gentleman in the office was very friendly and helpful. Parking was great and we were in walking distance of a few restaurants and shops. The beds were comfortable, it did include a small refrigerator and microwave. The market next door had high prices, as we expected, but there was much variety and included some fresh local produce. There was a heated outdoor pool, but, didn't realize this and didn't bring out suits. You could also roast marshmallows in the courtyard. If you are looking for 5 star lodging...drive to another town since the camp offered all that you NEED.

Room Tip: The double bed rooms are right off the main road, convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_weather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband, daughter, and I stayed here last Spring Break. It was wonderful! Our room was comfortable, the water always hot, and the pool always refreshing. From here, we could stroll down the street and check out the tourist shops and go for dinner or ice cream.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We pass through Fort Davis on occasion and we usually tent camp at the nearby State Park, but on this trip we did not have our camping gear and didn't want to mess with setting up and breaking down camp, so we opted for a "camp room" at the Stone Village Camp. We were familiar with the place as we had shopped at their store many times, but had never stayed there. The room was $44.00 (tax included). It is an older renovated motor court that offers both normal hotel rooms as well as the "camp room." We chose a camp room. The camp rooms are part of the motor inn, but the entrance is a large screen door, with a heavy canvas curtain. So, you have three thick stone and concrete walls, and your fourth wall is the screened entrance. The screen door does have a lock. The small room had two twin beds, minimal furniture, electricity, lights, and a vanity with faucet and sink. There is a ceiling fan too. Concrete floors. Because it was winter each bed had a thick down comforter. The mattress was firm and good. The bathrooms are a common bath like you would find at a state park campground. It was a very short walk from our room. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were also quite clean. The bathrooms were windowless and narrow and a bit small. Luckily we were the only ones there, otherwise if more than one or two people were in the bathroom it could get tight. In the bathrooms there were two showers, two toilets, and one sink. The stone and concrete walls of the camp rooms would likely help keep the room cooler in summer and warmer in winter. The small store associated with the place has a great selection of baked goods, good coffee (free for hotel guests) and organic foods. The also have a good deli. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to crash while passing through Ft. Davis and you are the type of person that can tent camp, then you may want to consider the camp rooms. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I spent over 3 weeks road-tripping around West Texas in October 2011 and had made advance reservations to stay at the Stone Village Tourist Camp for two nights as a break from tent camping about mid-way through the trip. Our first choice was the Indian Lodge at Davis Mountains State Park, but it had no vacancy so we decided on Stone Village and are glad we did. The man who greeted us was very warm and friendly, and gave us tips about the general area as he checked us in. The motel is located directly on the "main drag" in the town of Fort Davis, but it was not a loud or congested area - Fort Davis is a very small town. There is a small pool and an outdoor seating area with some Adirondack chairs and pine trees, located right next to the road. It was a bit chilly for swimming while we were there and the pool's heater was broken, so we did not spend a lot of time there, but the pool area was attractive and charming. We stayed in room 5, located in the renovated older building. It has two queen beds, and a desk and armchair in the bedroom, and a second room containing a table and chairs, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. In addition, there was a large cabinet unit for stowing away items. Since we had been camping, we had a cooler full of food, other groceries, laundry to sort, etc, so it was nice to spread out and have enough space for all our stuff. The furniture was in good shape, not dated and was reasonably attractive, but won't win the place any interior design awards. We loved the clean, bright hardwood floors and the original natural stone that covered some of the walls in our unit. The free wi-fi was a little slow, but it worked. The bathroom was tiny, with a small vanity and sink outside the toilet/shower room. I noticed that the paint job in the bathroom was sloppy, but that was easy to over look, given our overall satisfaction. Something I liked about the place was the DYI feel of the management. I got the sense that the desk staff, cleaning staff, etc. are all one and the same and really care about the place. The owners are "hands-on". The natural food grocery immediately next door is owned by the same people and was handy for picking up snacks and beverages, including beer and wine. Complimentary with the room was a daily cup or two of the delicious organic coffee available in that store - a wonderful "perk"! There are Adirondack chairs on the walkways in front of the rooms, but unfortunately most of the view from there is of the guests' cars and trucks parallel parked directly in front of them. Still, it was nice to have an outdoor place to sit and enjoy a beer or two. It was a short drive to great area attractions such as the scenic loop drive, Fort Davis National Historic Site and McDonald Observatory, all highly recommended. We washed clothes at a handy laundromat a couple of blocks away. A black cat named Atticus lives on the grounds, but was not interested in letting us pet him. All in all, we felt very at home here and would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
414 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
261 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
556 reviews
21.2 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
497 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Village Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Village Tourist Camp

Address: 509 North State Street, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated 30's era motor court, the rooms are simple and varying size. Hard wood floors, cedar ceilings, native rock exterior. Each room is different. One or two queen beds. Kitchenette's are comprised of water source, 2 person dining table, seating, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Baths are either tub/shower or walk-in shower. Flat panel televisions in all rooms except Rm#1. Rooms described as efficiency may not be equipped with appliances. The modern section, originally built in the 60's features two queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave are stowed in cabinet, coffee maker, flat panel TV and curbside parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Hotel Fort Davis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing