We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodging in Old Astoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clementine's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Astoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This wonderfully restored house and lodge from the 1880's is absolutely charming. It is located nearby the historic Flavel House Museum. Old downtown Astoria is within walking distance to restaurants, art galleries, shops, and the waterfront on the Columbia River. Judith Markham, the owner and innkeeper, is charming and a great cook. The views are wonderful of the ships on the river and lots of birds. On Judith business card it says "A Darlin' Little Inn" and that it is.

Room Tip: The rooms vary with a double bed to two double beds depending on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyonsPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 251 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just about 3.5 hours south from the Seattle area, Astoria is a lovely, small town get-a-way on the mouth of the Columbia River. We couldn't have asked for better "digs". Judith, the B&B owner/proprietress was a gem; making us feel entirely welcome. The other guests, equally charmed by our common circumstances engaged in pleasant conversation in the mornings in the parlor as we drank coffee, hot chocolate or tea served up by the kitchen staff. Both days breakfasts were yummy. Tasty and well-presented, first a frittata and fruit followed by a blueberry wellington pudding in a cast iron skillet on day two. Our cooking class was more suited to the novice cook but the dinner, a chicken dish with pearl onions and cherry tomatoes was very tasty and we were all glad to have the recipe for it. Combined with a simple rice pilaf and excellent green beans...It was delicious and satisfying. It was a great weekend...Thanks for the wonderful time Judith!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the Clementine room. It has two beautiful beds with feather comforters and pillows. The antiques and decor were amazing and the room was very clean. Judith makes the most scrumptious breakfasts and we were treated to Dutch babies, frittatas, pumpkin bread with homemade plumb jelly, and the most delicious coffee. We took the cooking class and learned how to make wonderful chicken and vegetables in parchment. The inn is close to downtown and my daughter and I walked there each day. Judith is warm and inviting to her beautiful inn. We will return often!!!

Room Tip: There are stairs to the Clementine room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I can't count the number of times I have stayed in Judith's charming inn. Romantic weekends, girls trips (with dogs!) and road trips when the kids were small. Never am I disappointed! From the warm, romantic and 'just shabby enough' room décor, to the sumptuos gourmet breakfasts, Judith creates the most relaxed, informal and welcoming experience. Do yourself a favor and make this a must-visit. Clementine's is an experience you do NOT want to miss!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a living social for two nights and a cooking class.we went down from Seattle with another couple. It was a full house and we had a blast. Chef Judith serves wonderful breakfast including frittatta's, blueberry scones, fruit ,individual dutch baby pancakes, sausage, and fresh made coffee and orange juice. Our cooking class included 10 of us staying there and was so fun. The men cooked not just the women. Everyone seemed to get along quite well. The house is very nice Victorian, each room is individually decorated. Our room had a lovely little balcony but the weather was not permitting use of it. The location is great for walking around town hitting the museums and shopping. We found a fun brewery restaurant, as well as a great coffee house and bistro/bar that had live music Saturday night. The town has really changed from 30 years ago when last there. Its kind of a hipster vibe with a lot of upscale galleries going in and antique shops. Judith and her helpers are just lovely, say hello to Liam her lovely German Shepherd, such a sweetie. We are already planning a spring trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Judith, the owner, was very nice and welcoming. The rooms were gorgeous and very clean and the breakfast was amazing! The location to the town was perfect, walking distance to everything, which made it nice and convenient. An overall wonderful atmosphere and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdrennan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Judith the owner made our stay special and a lot like living in our own home. we were comfortable and fed delicious food. it was fun sharing stories with other friendly guests and our stay set the tone for our next two weeks traveling the oregon coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elanaeisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clementine's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clementine's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 847 Exchange St, Astoria, OR 97103-4627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Astoria
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clementine's Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the late 1800's, this property offers river and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Clementine's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing