We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”
Review of Bridgewater Bistro

Bridgewater Bistro
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Industry
Transit: Local riverfront trolley stops 100 yards from restaurant entrance.
Description: Enjoy Pacific Northwest casual and fine dining in a beautifully-restored cannery boatyard on the Astoria riverfront, with full views of the impressive four-mile-long Astoria-Megler bridge and the busy Columbia River shipping channel. Eclectic menu of small plates, fish "n chips, gourmet burgers, house-made soups, salads, local seafood and fine regional meats. House-baked breads and desserts. 90% of menu available gluten-free (including desserts). Children's menu. Full view bar, regional beers on tap, 300+ wine list with regional focus (40 wines offered by the glass). Dog-friendly deck dining, weather permitting. View mezzanine level available for groups up to 55. Adjacent riverview banquet space can accommodate seating dining up to 225 with dance floor and bar. Retail wine and gift shop onsite. Open daily for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Happy hour 4-6 pm Monday-Friday. Local live jazz Thursday, Friday, Saturday nights; Sunday brunch. Dinner reservations advise
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This restaurant is a hit. It's always nice to find well cooked food when you're traveling. This food was good, really good. Wonderful views. Open friendly atmosphere. Romantic. Very good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    406
    114
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Arrived after the lunch rush, placed our order around 155pm: fish and chips, chowder, cranberry salad. Requested that the soup and salad be served at the same time the fish was served. Beverages were delivered promptly by a friendly waitperson. Then we waited, and waited. We did receive one update toward the end of our wait - "they must have 15 orders of Fish and chips back there in the kitchen". A half hour after ordering our food was delivered. The fish was hot but the fries were cold. At this point we were ready to move on with our day, so we did not send them back. Cranberry salad tasted OK but looked like it had spent several hours in the refrigerator after being prepared. The "house-made bread" did not strike us as special any more than Pepperidge Farm product would be. Great location and view, but our experience with food and wait time left us disappointed..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taybeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinerdinerSeattle, Owner at Bridgewater Bistro, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your experience yesterday. We have so many great comments about our fresh every day ciabatta, birdseed bread and Cuban buns and sliders, but perhaps they were simply not your style. Our cranberry salads are tossed to order by our servers for their tables so I'm not sure what about the salad gave you the impression that we were making these salads en masse. Perhaps you could give me an email directly to help us solve that puzzle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and View!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This was the Opening evening of a girls trip and I can't think of a better way to start! The food was excellent and the service friendly. Wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend this fabulous restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Netteheideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent view and value”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I had lunch here and consider this "a find." The owner greeted us as we came in and, after a short wait, seated us at a window table. The lunch menu is varied and affordable. I had a burger with cougar gold cheese and a berry blend mustard. Delicious. Their fries are definitely above average. I had a silk pie for dessert that was creamy and delivered in an artful presentation. They have draft beer available from the Fort George Brewery. If you like beer, you will see something you like. A full bar is available. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremiahred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Since Cannery Hotel and Spa, where we were staying, did not have a restaurant or bar there was a the Bridgewater Bistro just a two block walk away. A great two storied renovated space that serves wonderful drinks and food. I started out by having a Nigorni followed with a smoked tomato mac-N-cheese and then an unbelievable Dungeness crab-scargot. It was a take off of escargot and was served in a little escargot dish. Each indentation had and nice piece of crab leg and a sauce of butter, garlic, parsley, lemon, toasted hazelnut flour, diced preserved lemon with a hint of rosemary and thyme. My wife had Ahi tuna encrusted with peppercorn, wild mushroom dust, seared rare with a mushroom-veal demi-glace sauce with a side of seaweed salad which was great. Crème Burlee with an after dinner drink. It is a fine restaurant and a wonder l find.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winktwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgewater Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bridgewater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing