We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spendy, good food but questionable service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridgewater Bistro

Bridgewater Bistro
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Industry
Transit: Local riverfront trolley stops 100 yards from restaurant entrance.
Description: Enjoy Pacific Northwest casual and fine dining in a beautifully-restored cannery boatyard on the Astoria riverfront, with full views of the impressive four-mile-long Astoria-Megler bridge and the busy Columbia River shipping channel. Eclectic menu of small plates, fish "n chips, gourmet burgers, house-made soups, salads, local seafood and fine regional meats. House-baked breads and desserts. 90% of menu available gluten-free (including desserts). Children's menu. Full view bar, regional beers on tap, 300+ wine list with regional focus (40 wines offered by the glass). Dog-friendly deck dining, weather permitting. View mezzanine level available for groups up to 55. Adjacent riverview banquet space can accommodate seating dining up to 225 with dance floor and bar. Retail wine and gift shop onsite. Open daily for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Happy hour 4-6 pm Monday-Friday. Local live jazz Thursday, Friday, Saturday nights; Sunday brunch. Dinner reservations advise
Brush Prairie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spendy, good food but questionable service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We've had good meals here with lousy service and lousy food with minimal service. Portions are not generous. Even with the food generally being okay the price is high. Add to that off and off again service and this is not a reliable spot to take anyone if you want to impress them. The view is fabulous and the décor quite inviting but if you doubt the food this one is a toss up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Owner at Bridgewater Bistro, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I'm sorry to read of your less than positive experience of our restaurant. I noticed that you most recently visited in August, which turned out to be much busier than we expected and caught us short-handed in the kitchen and dining room on a few occasions. If you would contact me directly via e-mail (tony@bridgewaterbistro.com), I would be happy to mail you a complimentary gift card for another opportunity to prove ourselves worthy of our reputation and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    382
    109
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tivetshall St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Setting fabulous, food excellent - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a setting this river front restaurant has - on the Columbia river which laps beneath you as you eat - and here the river is 4 (four) miles wide !! Can 't beat the location anywhere except to dine with your feet actually in the sand. And the food is splendid - friends had seared tuna with black pepper, prime rib which looked and tasted excellent while we had chili lime prawns and a 12 oz New York cut steak. All were enjoyed by everyone. Topped off with a really superb bottle of Oregon Pinot Noir and a Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, this was a great meal. And it didn't break the bank either with entrees at less that 30 dollars all in. Give this place a go if ever in Astoria - it is sure not to disappoint. Sante! A tip - ask for one of Teresa's tables she is a brilliant and a good laugh too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lambo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
2 reviews
“Would never go back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had lunch there one day. I ordered fish and chips. When I got my order the server gave me some story about how they use a gluten free coating so it doesn't leach the flavor out of the fish. Well, no wonder, the coating had such an off taste you couldn't taste the fish. Why eat gluten free anything if you don't have to. My husband ordered a burger and said it was okay but nothing outstanding. The burger at Dooger's was much better..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nomorep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Owner at Bridgewater Bistro, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
I was very sorry to read about your recent disappointment with our fish and chips. In an attempt to accommodate the growing number of people who have discovered that they are gluten-intolerant, we have developed, among other things, a gluten-free batter for our fish and chips which has been generally well received by our customers. I'm sorry it was not to your taste, and will be sure to have our chef check that the batter is being properly mixed by his staff. I hope this experience will not prevent you from returning to enjoy the many other items offered on our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This restaurant and bar was the closest to our hotel. Service was friendly, food good and promptly served. Large menu and full bar with local tap beers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cuestaroble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, value and cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The food and drink was marvelous and not expensive, despite the location right on the water. I had the chili-lime shrimp and a large house salad for dinner, along with a Basil-tini which was perfection.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CPABarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgewater Bistro also viewed

 
 

Been to Bridgewater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing