We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, but dishes were hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridgewater Bistro

Bridgewater Bistro
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Industry
Transit: Local riverfront trolley stops 100 yards from restaurant entrance.
Description: Enjoy Pacific Northwest casual and fine dining in a beautifully-restored cannery boatyard on the Astoria riverfront, with full views of the impressive four-mile-long Astoria-Megler bridge and the busy Columbia River shipping channel. Eclectic menu of small plates, fish "n chips, gourmet burgers, house-made soups, salads, local seafood and fine regional meats. House-baked breads and desserts. 90% of menu available gluten-free (including desserts). Children's menu. Full view bar, regional beers on tap, 300+ wine list with regional focus (40 wines offered by the glass). Dog-friendly deck dining, weather permitting. View mezzanine level available for groups up to 55. Adjacent riverview banquet space can accommodate seating dining up to 225 with dance floor and bar. Retail wine and gift shop onsite. Open daily for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Happy hour 4-6 pm Monday-Friday. Local live jazz Thursday, Friday, Saturday nights; Sunday brunch. Dinner reservations advise
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, but dishes were hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had dinner and drinks at the Bridgewater Bistro at the recommendation of our hotel. Our server was excellent and took good care of us. We had a nice table overlooking the water. Some dishes were excellent -- the clam chowder and oyster shooters in particular. The chilli lime shrimp salad and local seafood cakes were forgettable, and the savoury crab cheesecake was interesting but a bit too highly priced. It was a nice smart restaurant to spend an evening, but for a coastal port town we expected fresher seafood.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wnoinotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    386
    112
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
2 reviews
“slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great view but came for quick lunch at 2pm and didn't get served for over an hour. Place was only 1/4 full. Food good but overpriced. Chicken salad sandwich pretty amazing though. would come back if I have a few hours to spate for eating!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ocean Park, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sharing a great meal with my brother from Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My brother visiting from Florida is a bit fussy. We all stopped for lunch and we wanted him to enjoy the views on the Columbia River.

The food ordered was excellent. The wine choices were terrific. The service was impeccable.

My brother said it was the finest meal so far, and we fully agree!

This is one of the best restaurants in the region, having enjoyable live music in the evening and consistently providing an excellent fine dining experience. You will be glad if you visit this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 58th Anniversary (Aug. 20th) at the Bridgewater Bistro in Astoria. The food was fantastic, excellently presented, I had a seafood pot with Dungeness Crab, shrimp, white fish, and scallops, EXCELLENT, I would recommend it to any shellfish lover. My wife had a Dungeness Crab Cheese Cake, she had never had anything like it and she loved it! The restaurant prepared a special Chocolate Trio Deseret for our anniversary, again beautifully presented. We highly recommend this restaurant for an intimate dinner setting. Request seating in the Massine area for a beautiful view of the Colombia River and the passing river traffic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billnevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
383 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“best meal of our Pacific NW trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our extended family of 8 (kids ages 10-16) enjoyed a wonderful dinner at this lovely restaurant. We love seafood and appreciated the large variety of small plates and seafood dinner options. Everything was delicious, particularly the seafood cheesecake & Pacific potlatch. We enjoyed discussing wine options with the owner and kids loved watching the huge ships cross under the scenic Astoria bridge. The mini-desserts are fantastic, very reasonably priced and all were delicious. The chocolate bête noir was very decadent but not too sweet, and the berry cobbler was wonderful. Our server seemed a bit distracted and distant, but was competent. The ambience was lovely, with the sunset view and live guitarist. We would return here again. It is worth the drive from Cannon Beach (where we stayed).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgewater Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bridgewater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing