We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great atmosphere!”
Review of Bridgewater Bistro

Bridgewater Bistro
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Industry
Transit: Local riverfront trolley stops 100 yards from restaurant entrance.
Description: Enjoy Pacific Northwest casual and fine dining in a beautifully-restored cannery boatyard on the Astoria riverfront, with full views of the impressive four-mile-long Astoria-Megler bridge and the busy Columbia River shipping channel. Eclectic menu of small plates, fish "n chips, gourmet burgers, house-made soups, salads, local seafood and fine regional meats. House-baked breads and desserts. 90% of menu available gluten-free (including desserts). Children's menu. Full view bar, regional beers on tap, 300+ wine list with regional focus (40 wines offered by the glass). Dog-friendly deck dining, weather permitting. View mezzanine level available for groups up to 55. Adjacent riverview banquet space can accommodate seating dining up to 225 with dance floor and bar. Retail wine and gift shop onsite. Open daily for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Happy hour 4-6 pm Monday-Friday. Local live jazz Thursday, Friday, Saturday nights; Sunday brunch. Dinner reservations advise
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is located on the water and has a great view with floor to ceiling windows. The food is fantastic! I had a chicken pesto sandwich on rye with asiago cheese baked onto the outside of it -- so good! They have these muffins they bring out before every meal (ours were cranberry and walnut) and a lemon curd that is so good to put on them! The prices are reasonable, maybe a little higher than other places. They have a fire place and a glass floor cutout in front of it where you can see the water underneath the floor. They also have a piano player. We were there on a Sunday afternoon around 1:30 and were seated immediately. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foremoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    414
    116
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We ate here the first night we got into town with the recommendation of our Hotel who had called and got us reservations by the skin of our teeth as it was a very busy night and holiday weekend. Our food was wonderful and cooked to our specifications. Because it was Valentine's week they were still celebrating it and had a great additional menu to choose from. In fact our meal was so impressive that we went back on our last night in town and I must also add that not only again was the food just as good but also, again, the wait staff very attentive and wonderful. If we ever return we know exactly where to go for a great meal and service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 61678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Surprised and Disappointed”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We looked forward to trying this restaurant, but were sadly disappointed by the terrible service. We stood at the desk for about five minutes; no one noticed us. Then, the host arrived and greeted us by saying, "No reservation?".
Our waitress never smiled once, forgot to bring us the basket of bread we asked for, and did not ask my husband if he'd like a second beer. It appears as though she hates her job.
As for the food, the onion soup was very good. The prices are high, and the service was so poor that we'll never go here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinerdinerSeattle, Owner at Bridgewater Bistro, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I was also surprised and disappointed to read of your negative experience of the service you received at our restaurant. As you can see by most of the other reviews on this site, this is not a usual reaction. I spend a considerable amount of time with our staff reinforcing the need for friendly, prompt and attentive service and will immediately bring your review to their attention. I apologize for our service team's lapses on the day you visited and hope you will give us another opportunity to give you a better experience at The Bridgewater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEASANTON
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Had a great lunch”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Okay, it did start with a couple of bloody mary's! I had the rueben and loved it. The mrs had a hot seafood salad, very unique, and loved it. Beautiful setting looking out on the river. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“First rate!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Do not pass up an opportunity to dine here. It is unique to say the least. The food and the service is very good, but you might not notice due to the views. A little pricey for my blood, but worth every nickel.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgewater Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bridgewater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing