We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten-free yes amazing!!!”
Review of Bridgewater Bistro

Bridgewater Bistro
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Industry
Transit: Local riverfront trolley stops 100 yards from restaurant entrance.
Description: Enjoy Pacific Northwest casual and fine dining in a beautifully-restored cannery boatyard on the Astoria riverfront, with full views of the impressive four-mile-long Astoria-Megler bridge and the busy Columbia River shipping channel. Eclectic menu of small plates, fish "n chips, gourmet burgers, house-made soups, salads, local seafood and fine regional meats. House-baked breads and desserts. 90% of menu available gluten-free (including desserts). Children's menu. Full view bar, regional beers on tap, 300+ wine list with regional focus (40 wines offered by the glass). Dog-friendly deck dining, weather permitting. View mezzanine level available for groups up to 55. Adjacent riverview banquet space can accommodate seating dining up to 225 with dance floor and bar. Retail wine and gift shop onsite. Open daily for lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch. Happy hour 4-6 pm Monday-Friday. Local live jazz Thursday, Friday, Saturday nights; Sunday brunch. Dinner reservations advise
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gluten-free yes amazing!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My entire family is gluten- free and a few Cealics 2 adults 3 children we had our own bread soups salads entrees desserts GF beer we were In Heaven, best staff super mellow we will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildfireash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    390
    113
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful View, Great Chowder”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Wife and I learned of this place from a friend and went when our first choice was closed. Ironically we had earlier that weekday afternoon been nearly mugged on the Astoria Boardwalk at 3 PM near this restaurant's location. Anyway, we were given a nice table on the Columbia River overlooking the bridge to Washington state. We both had the clam and mussel chowder with a hint of curry as appetizers and I'm glad I had the bowl not the cup. This chowder was the highlight of the meal for me as the small portion fish & chips we both had as entrees consisted of frozen french fries and so-so battered cod. With my wife's glass of pinot noir we ended up with a excellent chowder and a wonderful view of the river for $55 and change.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinerdinerSeattle, Owner at Bridgewater Bistro, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to comment. We're happy that you enjoyed your chowder, sorry that you didn't enjoy your fish and chips. We try to keep the battering on the chips to a light dusting to let the delicate flavors of the cod come through. I'm sorry that it wasn't to your taste. We hope you'll come back again for another bowl of chowder!
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Gluten Free Favorite place to eat.”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I think the Bridgewater Bistro has the largest selection of Gluten Free choices on their menu that I've seen anywhere else. The Food was awesome. I had the oysters panfried w/chips and coleslaw. We had calamari for an appetizer. The wine selections were reasonable, we enjoyed a Stimpson Cabernet Sauvignon which was excellent. The view of the Columbia River is a enjoyable as well, watching the massive ships that pass under the Columbia River Bridge.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goliathjerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinerdinerSeattle, Owner at Bridgewater Bistro, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We're on a mission to offer as much of our menu as possible to our gluten-free customers and we're glad that you noticed! This week I'll add gluten-free sandwich bread to the mix so our GF guests can have an asiago-grilled chicken sandwich, a reuben sandwich, perhaps the fisherman's sandwich with grilled salmon and olive tapenade! One of the things I've missed most about being gluten-intolerant is a good sandwich. If you feel that way too, we've got your covered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehalem
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pricey and a bit pretentious.”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The food is the weak spot here; could do with more substance and less pretension. Wine list is good, local art on the walls is good and decor tasteful.

Helpful?
2 Thank reverpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I'm always looking for good customer service, it's part of the whole dining-out experience, right? Well, if you agree, you probably won't be impressed either. Not that easy to find, but nice view once you do.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julief62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinerdinerSeattle, Owner at Bridgewater Bistro, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write to us of your experience. A little more information would help us use your input as a training tool for our staff, though. Customer service is our highest priority and we will do our best to ensure that on future visits your experience will be one of excellent service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridgewater Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bridgewater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing