We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy, but a bit pricey”

Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Healthy, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Quality, healthful, and meat free breakfast and lunch fare. The dining room is comfortable, and there is a very nice play area for smaller children. Sandwiches were a bit more than we wanted to spend (10 dollars) and the pastries and baked goods were all in the 3-6 dollar range. Although the food was wonderful, it leans very much in the whole foods direction and may be a bit much for those looking for more traditional food options (like soda or peanut butter) as was the case with our children.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KM_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    102
    29
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and coffee”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I'm a bit of a snob when it comes to food so I try to find eclectic, tasty, well-seasoned food anywhere I go. I came to this cafe/restaurant this morning for breakfast as had the most delicious sandwich and great coffee.
There are also lots of tempting pastries that I might pick up for the road!

Helpful?
Thank Lionessa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quality pastries to go”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We only had time to grab some pastries to go. The bear claw was beautifully crafted and tasted great - Not too sweet. I actually ate the oatcake a few days later and LOVED it. It looks dry, but was somewhat soft and chewy in the center- A great snack with coffee or tea on the road.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 907REVIEWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Astoria”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It has great energy, it's alive with interesting people, flyers about all the things going on in and around Astoria, plus the food was clean, delicious and organic. Beautiful building, casual, comfortable environment. Would love to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nncy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food in a causal place”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a number of pastries and well as egg dishes for a very satisfying breakfast. Lots of magazines available to read, which was a nice touch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Prof1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing