We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joyful!”

Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Joyful!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I love this place. If I lived in Astoria you would find me here every morning. Wonderful energy and a delightful staff. The food was excellent--all of it fresh and local. So many treats to try! You must stop in!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coos2View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    106
    29
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This is a must-stop place for breakfast”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were transiting through town looking for breakfast and stumbled on this place. You must not miss this place. Great bakery stuff - breads, pastries, cookies, you name it. And the barrister will amaze you with coffee, latte, hot chocolate, et.al.. The breakfast entrees take a little time and are worth every minute of it. It wasn't until we were leaving that it dawned on my it was vegetarian - and damn fine stuff! Our friend had not one, but TWO pastries they were so good. Go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiggleglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Try the cardamom roll and the cardamom braid - one is small, the other like a hallah loaf. Both are delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Blue Scorcher is a living example of how it all can work perfectly; good food, happy employees, awesome bread and local and organic foods. I think just about everything is made in-house and made well. They are a co-operative business meaning every employee has a vote isand has a say in how things are run. The results are a staff happy to be there, making food with awareness and passion and valuing you, their customers. Do not miss this when Astoria.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Egan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coffee Oasis”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

When you are a coffee connoisseur it's tricky finding a good one. Like an oasis in the desert the Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe made espresso coffee for my travel mate equal to an Australian brew of 'flat white'. The tea was a delight arriving in a teapot (I think they are on the endangered list in the US). The food was divine and we left with loaves of bread and not too sweet, sweet things. Delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe also viewed

Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Blue Scorcher Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing