We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Atmosphere & Food was Great!”

Rogue Ales Public House
Ranked #20 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unique Atmosphere & Food was Great!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We discovered on a Drive from Seattle, WA to Cannon Beach. It was a great place for Lunch. Countless varieties of beer. The food was great! I had Kobe, Local Mushroom , & Blue Cheese Burger - it was great! Do beware of the bathrooms! You should see - however, you may not wish to actually use. The bathroom is a bit frightening - virtually unchanged from the days when the site was a Tuna Factory!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    109
    70
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We came here after a long day driving and because it was a short walk out the peer for beer & pub food. The place was crowded and they had a reunion of sort for a large group when we visited. The service was a bit slow, the menu looked like decent pub food and their was plenty of beer choices . . . so we decided to stay and deal with the pace. The server helped us select some of their items they were known for (the onion rings were very good) and we chose the fish & chips, a hotdog & a burger - figured we wanted choices and had only one shot to order. But that is where the fun ended as I quickly got sick having just tried a few bites and had to leave; thus paid for pricy food I did not eat & at the time I did not attribute my queasiness to the meal. Within an hour, both of us were sick form the same menu item. We were fine in the morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mini6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever the Coast Guard has me
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neat location - great beers, and lots to choose from”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Service isn't the best, but hey, it's a brew pub - sit back and have a couple. Food is on the more expensive side for what you get. If you go here, do it for the beers

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottyKP07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Saw the river. Staff never saw .”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Waited half an hour at a table without one look over from staff. Approached staff and told them we were there.....i guess they forgot. Saw one gentleman being waited on, but his order was messed up.
Used to be a great place but really has been going down hill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013Courtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good pub food - great location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were looking for a pizza lunch on a recent trip to Astoria. The place we picked out was a dive so we continued on and just happend to see the sign for Rogue Public House and gave it a try. It was worth it. Its location on the river is good, however it is on the land side of the pier so restricted views are available only from the patio - but better yet - after lunch take a walk around the pier for great views. The location also has a small coffee shop - right on the water - a small museum for Bumble Bee Salmon and a laundramat! Oh, the food.... We all had pizza and it was very good. The fare is what I would describe as pub food. The beer, Rogue Ales, were very good - and lots of variety to try. Service was okay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue Ales Public House also viewed

 

Been to Rogue Ales Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing