We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brewpub in Astoria”

Wet Dog Cafe & Brewery
Ranked #6 of 99 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Lunch and Dinner Children's Menu Brewery on site Casual family dining on the waterfront Large Parties & Events with pre-arrangements
Wilsonville
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best brewpub in Astoria”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Although there's stiff competition the Wet Dog is still the best brewpub in Astoria. The combination of location (right on the riverwalk, with outdoor seating), high-quality beers and pub-grub (including ample gluten-free-friendly offerings), friendly service, and price puts it above the rest. The fish & chips sampler (multiple varieties of fish) are tough to pass up, as are the beers, and even during busy times (which covers much of the afternoon), we've never waited more than 10-15 minutes - worth it. We go there every time we're in Astoria and we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    290
    96
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
380 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Give this a try. I enjoyed dinner along with the view, the excellent service and the lively, but not loud, ambience. They have a nice combination here - that's why it's been in this location for such a long time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty clam chowder!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stumbled across this cafe while exploring the water front. I had the tasty clam chowder and my husband enjoyed a Reuben sandwich. Service was prompt and friendly.Prices and portions are reasonable. Nice view of the water front while enjoying a relaxing lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDBacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun and Yummy”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've been here several times and always enjoy this place. The beers are nice. We recommend the Strawberry Blond and the IPA's are nice, too. Sample 5 4-oz beers for $7.50, then order a pint of your favorite. The food is solid, but above average pub/grill fare, burgers, etc. The Chowder in a sour-dough bowl is great, and if you upgrade to add grilled seafood, it's pretty amazing. They know how to fry oysters here, too! Yum!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PNWnative2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food with a view.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We found this place by accident. It turned out to be a good accident. The restaurant had open windows that looked over the water . Our table was right next to the open windows. It was a good thing too, the day we where there it was very hot outside. The décor was fun and very open. Lots of space and lots of seating. Our service was good and the food was good as well. I had their clam chowder. Let's just say I've had better. It seemed to me it tasted as if they used a potato soup base to make their clam chowder.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurienTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet Dog Cafe & Brewery also viewed

 
 

Been to Wet Dog Cafe & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing