We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned and Delighted”
Review of Fulio's Pastaria

Fulio's Pastaria
Ranked #18 of 99 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Returned and Delighted”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This was not our first time dining at Fulios. Indeed, we try to stop in each time when visiting Astoria. This time was special, however. Dinner for our 40th anniversary. We could have gone anywhere on the Oregon coast or even Portland. But, we chose to head for Astoria so we could sit down in the lovely setting of Fulios and enjoy a meal.

Staff was, as always, attentive and friendly. Our dinner choices, a lasagna and a linguine were pefrectly prepared and presented. We chose an Italian red, of course, but the wine list is also complete with a fine array of the best from Pacific Northwest.

It is easy to go someplace that will be more expensive. It is really really hard to find a good Italian venue that is better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    78
    25
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Place with outstanding service, but...”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The ambiance is nice, the service wonderful. My husband loved his meal, but I ended up with foodborne illness, I had something with clams in it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissC0181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were a group of 5 that loved everything we ordered. The owner was very hospitable and recommended some sites to visit in Astoria that we hadn't planned on visiting. So glad we did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swok34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pluses and Minuses”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were visiting Astoria for the first time and were in the mood for some Italian food. Fulio's Pastaria was on the recommended list of the hotel we were staying at. Initially, the hostess and server were very friendly and pleasant. My wife was pleased with her dinner (egg plant pamesian). I ordered the fettucine with salmon. But, WHERE'S THE SALMON?!? There was hardly any. The waiter didn't ask "how was your meal", which was a good move on his part. Neither he nor the hostess bothered to ask if we wished for another drink or dessert. (We didn't.) To finish, the hostess dropped the check on our table without even a thank you. This town has many restaurant choices. Pick one other than Fulio's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We were surprised!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went to this restaurant half starved and were very impressed with the ambiance and the friendliness of the staff and the owner. The prices seemed decent...I hesitated to submit this but it was our experience. The bread and balsmaic vinegar/olive oil were great. My partner had a salad which she really enjoyed.. I ordered an Alfredo pasta dish and this is where our meal went south. It was tasteless with the consistency of soup. She also ordered a side of the same pasta and had the same experience. We did not complain because everyone was so nice and the service was good and that was our fault. Would we ever go back after that meal...no!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdrambuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fulio's Pastaria also viewed

Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Fulio's Pastaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing