We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Ranked #18 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We only spent one night in downtown Astoria and during a walk, noticed the inviting Ship Inn near the docks. The menu seemed a bit limited with a section that gave a nod to the UK and since our son was in England, we decided this was a sign. The fish 'n' chips, scallops and shrimp all sounded wonderful and looked great on others' plates but after eating only seafood for days we opted for a change. We had Shepherd's Pie and the Chicken Pasty - both most excellent choices! I was hesitate to order the pasty since my husband makes a stellar ground beef pasty but I was completely pleased with my order and cleaned it up. It was rife with freshly baked chicken and fresh mushrooms seasoned to perfection with a crust that was melt-in-your-mouth. My husband pronounced the Shepherd's Pie simply wonderful. We finished up with homemade Marionberry pie ala mode that we are still talking about. The inside may be a bit dated, but we don't care for the sterile generic chain restaurants and you can tell the wait staff has been there for years. It had an old-timey supper club feel and of course being right on the river made the sunset view of the passing ships really memorable. We've rated it very near the top of all of our meals on this two week trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Texantrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    86
    46
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
astoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST fish n' chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had already heard to order seafood, chowder or traditional British food here so I went for the Halibut fish n' chips and they were AWESOME! Crispy, (not too greasy), fresh, tender on teh inside....really really good Fish n' Chips....Also, I ate some of my partners chowder (4.5 out of 5....the very best chowder is Charlie's Chowder House, like really the best) but the Ship Inn is better than most places....here, DON"T order off the rest of the menu, I haven't yet, but have heard....across the board, the seafood and traditional british dishes (different special each night) are delicious and reasonably priced! The other soups/dishes are just average. Service great, price great, SEAFOOD/CHOWDER great! OPh yeah, try to get a river view. Pub cozy on rainy days.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank camgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Order the halibut and chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've been going to this place for years, and it hasn't changed. Yes, the décor is dated, it has bad acoustics but the halibut and chips, and the prawns and chips are some of the best I've ever had. I've suggested this place, and taken several people with me and they all love the food (always ordering the halibut and chips, or prawns and chips). Some other customers I talked to said the calamari there is the best they've every had. There is a nice view of the water.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome sunset view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you're here for the view, this place has it. That's the only memorable thing about this restaurant, an awesome sunset view. I had the baked halibut with rice and mixed veggies. The fish was dry and tasteless, the rice was just plain rice and the veggies had one cauliflower, a couple of broccoli and lots of carrots. We almost walked out because the place doesn't smell good, but decided to give it a chance. We should have followed our first instinct.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great view, charming restaurant, prices are a little high”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We all had the cod fish and chips and they were good, no better or worse than any I've had on the coast, the clam chowder was also good, the view is great, the prices are a little high for a family type restaurant, though -when you have multiple offspring to feed, $16 each for some fish n chips and chowder really adds up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank misty_bee_Wyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing