We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most LOVELY location in Astoria.”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canby, Oregon
2 reviews
“Most LOVELY location in Astoria.”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and enjoyed, almost every minute. The rooms are huge, staff is the friendliest, complimentary wine and cheese hour in the afternoon, cookies at night and a huge breakfast selection, including waffles, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, juices and yogurt. We got to ride in the classic antique cars to our dinner location. I just wish we could have had the time to ride the vintage bicycles around town. The only complaint was some super noisy people above us at mid-night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristiina109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    160
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
184
755
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We arrived here and were welcomed at check in by two glasses of wine and once in room a bottle of champagne next to the fireplace. I had mentioned it was our anniversary and they left us a nice card too. We loved the size of room and were blown away by the view. The breakfast was simple and included a make your own waffle machine. The coffee available all day was good. The fresh baked cookies each night was nice and made us really feel at home. After a day of exploring the local areas, it was a delight to get back to the wine, cheese, and salmon reception. The smoked salmon from a local company. It rained one night there but the way the hotel sits, you could barely tell. When we stepped out to the back balcony of our room we were protected, no rain through windows etc. When we stepped out front, it was windy and rainy. The hotel made our dinner reservations and then drove us there in the vintage car.This was great. We ended up staying one extra night instead of heading back to Portland our last night just because we loved it so much. You can really tell that all staff here is very caring and want to help make your stay the best experience and they did this for us. I was so excited to stay here because of what I had read and was so glad that I was not disappointed. We stayed in a regular room and the price was reasonable and worth every penny. The balcony view was the best from what we could see from the other hotels, nobody else offers this. Watching the boats go by and then the big bridge right outside while sitting on the comfy window seat across from the fireplace and using the nice binoculars in the room was a daily delight. This was our first time in Astoria and we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy2betraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We loved our experience at Cannery Pier. We rode bikes, walked on the river, and ate dinner at a nearby restaurant that overlooked the gorgeous Columbia river. If you have a chance take advantage of this unique hotel and its courteous staff.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jhovden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2010

What a wonderful stay, in a beautiful, town.....The hotel itself is so nice, and right ON the columbia river!....the continental breakfast is the best, but the wine tasting in the afternoon is even better....if you're looking for a fast pace, noisy, over rated place, its not right for you.....the hotel is a peaceful, aesthetic joy, away from the masses.... the staff is friendly and informed, always available for your needs.....fishing, golfing, sightseeing, it couldnt be a better place to stay and enjoy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We loved staying here and will definitely do it again! The hotel is literally on the pier so you're surrounded by water. It was really cool to see the barges pass by so close. The room was nice w/ a comfy bed and small balcony. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krissay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is a magnificent hotel in every way. Built on the site of an old salmon cannery pier, the owner/architect, Robert Jacob, had a vision to create a hotel that architecturally conveyed a sense of the history of the location. Astoria was at one time bustling with salmon fishing and canneries. The hotel captures both the historic and contemporary feeling through its superb design. Every detail of the design is masterfully executed. Fascinating town, lots to see and do (don't miss the sea lions that hang out on piers in town). We had a 2 week trip in Washington and Oregon and this was our favorite hotel. Special bonus the night of our stay was that Jacob spoke about the process of creating the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photographer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Loved the room. Great service with wine/cheese in evening and great continental breakfast. Take advantage of limo service to dinner in vintage auto's. Balcony views of the Columbia River "to die for". Claw foot tub was very relaxing. I would go back in heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbfues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing