We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at the Cannery Pier Hotel! Highly recommend a stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at the Cannery Pier Hotel! Highly recommend a stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for two wonderful nights in August. We were not quite sure what to expect, but we were more than pleasantly surprised. In fact, we absolutely loved it!! The view of the Columbia River was spectacular - I was awed by the many ships passing by, and the serenity of the view from our window. The room even has a little window seat where you can sit and read while enjoying the view. Just a peaceful and beautiful location. The rooms themselves were also beautifully decorated - very modern and spacious, with very comfy beds. And, the continental breakfast was nice as well, as well as the wine reception in the afternoon and freshly baked cookies in the evening. We found Astoria quiet yet wonderful, and would definitely return! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a special getaway.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sadiemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    159
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
180
747
24
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

Spent a very enjoyable night at the Cannery Pier Hotel. Our suite was beautifully appointed and the view of the Columbia River and all the associated activity was great. Excellent location right on the waterfront walk. Close to restaurants and local attractions. Be sure to take advantage of the ride in the 1939 Buick. Extremely cordial and attentive staff. The only inconvience was the inability to regulate the room temperature. There is no A/C and if the room heats up from the sunlight, it's pretty tough to cool it off.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — No air conditioning!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

My fiance and I were looking for a nice Hotel in Astoria to stay for our wedding night. We had heard good things about the Cannery Pier and even seen some impressive pictures. So, we decided to go view the property, being that we lived only 30 minutes away. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk, so we looked around in the lobby for a few minutes...no big deal. A couple minutes later, the front desk girl walked out, made eye contact, but didn't offer to help or see if we needed anything. She continued on to make a phone call and then walked into the back office - seeming to avoid us. I went up to the desk, and said, loudly, "hello...???" A different man (possibly the manager??) came to the front desk, and seeming annoyed, asked, "what do you need?"... I explained our situation, and that we were interested in seeing a room. He pointed us down the hall rudely, indicating to 'go look for ourselves'. The room was nice... but not what we expected. The beds were uncomfortable. The balcony was nice, but needed to be cleaned of Seagull droppings... Anyways, this could be a great hotel, but the staff/management seemed very arrogant, and small details were missed. Didn't quite hit the mark this time. Maybe, if the staff learned about "custormer service", we would have a different opinion.

  • Liked — Water-front location...
  • Disliked — Customer service & care...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Lyon_United
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
282 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

We stayed one night at the Cannery Pier and wished we had booked the whole vacation there, until we spent a night walking through Astoria. This is a very unique experience being out over the water and being so close to the big ships sailing past your windows. We had a corner suite on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet and private. The wine and cheese reception was wonderful as was the ride to the restaurant in a 1939 Buick Special. If only Astoria itself was a bit nicer this would be a perfect location for a few nights stay, as it is the city itself feels a little run down and the walk along the water , while perfectly safe, wasnt very scenic. So if you are in the area definetely stay here but don't plan your vacation around Astoria there are much nicer towns along the coast or into portland itself.

  • Liked — Stunning Views
  • Disliked — Very pricey
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

My wife& I just returned from an enjoyable, relaxing 2-night stay at CPH.

Location:
The view, as mentioned by many others, is amazing. Right next to the shipping channel and in the shadow of the towering Astoria-Megler Bridge, every CPH guest room has a small balcony and a set of binoculars (a thoughtful touch) for checking out the traffic and the abundant wildlife.
But as gorgeous as the view is, the location is somewhat removed from the town center, about a mile walk/trolley ride away. Not to worry when you have a car (or have access to the Hotels, vintage chauffered car), but something worth noting. The area around the hotel is in a state of redevelopment, with a new structure being built beside the pot-holed access road, but still plenty of taverns, saunas, fish markets and such, reminders of the still-present blue-collar side of Astoria.

Service:
Outstanding, genuinely friendly, courteous in every way. From the wine reception the moment we entered til the time we left, we couldn't have been more pleased. From restaurant reservations to scheduling the car to bringing extra pillows and an ironing board, everything was done with a smile.

Amenities:
Nicely decorated rooms and furnishings, contemporary colors and fabrics. Spacious bathroom with both a shower stall and claw-foot soaking tub. Also lots of counter space, which my wife liked. Decent bed, not the most comfortable ever but we slept fine. Love-seat and a small built-in bench next to the window for reading or watching the river. Gas fireplace. Big dresser/entertainment cabinet and a separate wet bar with sink, microwave and mini-fridge. Gourmet chocolates, too. A few quirks (not enough towel racks, swing-armed lamps that bumped walls, etc.), but overall a comfortable and well-planned space.

Hotel:
Pretty lobby, lots of natural light, great views, plenty of comfortable chairs. Outdoor deck was perfect for hanging out during the wine reception on a beautiful, surprisingly sunny Friday in April. I used the treadmill in the fitness room and noted other weight/cardio equipment, as well as a whirpool and sauna.
Decent selection at the continental breakfast: cereals and pastries, fruit, yogurt, waffles and juices. Gets congested and a little chaotic in the small serving area at times, patience (or early arrival) recommended.
Others mentioned thin walls and we agree. Could hear motion upstairs and in corridors. My wife's a light sleeper and we actually stacked the bed's throw pillows around cracks under the door to block sound from the hall!

Value:
We won our 2 nights through a contest (thanks LiveWire!) so the cost was nominal. At $200/night for our room otherwise, I'd say that's pretty reasonable. View alone warrants a decent percentage of the room rates though...

Overall:
I give this hotel a '4 of 5'...quite a nice place, short of outstanding. Good amenities and awesome view, with outstanding service (thanks Don, Lisa, Amanda...). Recommended!

  • Liked — service, THE VIEW!
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank msubulldog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

Rather pretty, but unoriginal decor. Clean and friendly. Actually "on" the water and great views of the river shipping channel and the passing ships. The bed was less than comfortable, lumpy pillows and heavy, difficult top spread. Not good bedding. Nice bath, although the shower door stuck and there was no mat for the shower, so very slippery!!! (we used the mat from the tub) The tub is raised on a platform the same color as the bathroom floor, so we both stumbled until I laid a towel across the rise. there are reading lights (very appreciated) and a reasonable sofa. I booked it for the view, but would not go again for the lack of detail and it is too bad cause the hotel had a chance to do all the right stuff.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bed and bath
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank oldmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing